Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-16

Yesterday a little after 3pm I sent a note to my nurse at Duke telling her I had been having a sharp pain in my right lung and shoulder and wanted to know if and when this might be a concern. She called me minutes later and said, “Those are classic signs of a blood clot and you need to get to the emergency room immediately.” I was already not having a good physical or mental day, but we left as soon as we could. I texted a number of you asking you to pray. Thank you and my apologies for not remembering to update all of you after the fact. Of course it didn’t help that I wrote, “Please pray. Going to emergency room may have blood alot in my lung.” It was supposed to be ‘clot’. Did I mention I don’t see well? šŸ™‚

When we got there Mike was already there and Todd arrived just a short while later. I have the best friends you could ask for and though I initially felt it was totally unnecessary it really made a difference.

I found out right away that I was going to have to get an IV and it would have to be in a big vein because of the pressure they use when they force in the xray dye. My nurse Lynn said, “Otherwise it could blow out the vein.” I started to feel even sicker. Mike said to her, “Sometimes too much information is not a good thing.” He knows me well. šŸ™‚

There were no rooms available for the first two hours so we were in the hallway.

I had the cute little mask on because of all the other sick people in the halls and being wheeled by – well, that and because it is so stylish šŸ™‚ I honestly don’t know how people work in ER. I can barely stand being there at all.

Lynn was really fantastic and took incredibly good care of me. I asked for topical lidocaine (sp?) so that I wouldn’t feel the IV. When asked if it worked well she said, “I don’t know. I’ve only used in five year-olds.” šŸ™‚ I didn’t feel bad at all. I did feel the stick, but it wasn’t terrible. It was impressive how fast Lynn took about six tubes of blood for testing. I was conveniently located next to the room where they did my chest x-rays.

A while later they took me down the hall for my CT scan. The technician told me that when she injected the dye it would feel like a hot flash. Well, not exactly. She said, “I just injected the dye”, but I didn’t feel anything – and then I did. It felt very much like I had just soiled myself. I’m not kidding. And for a few seconds I wasn’t sure šŸ™‚ I was thankful that it was all over rather quickly.

Not that long afterwards Lynn moved me to my own room, which is why I took off my cute mask. One of the cool things about my ER visit was that my doctor ended up being a friend, Dick Frederick. Dick explained that my blood work was all positive, the chest x-rays showed nothing and the CT scan showed no blood clots and no masses. What an incredible relief! Thanks, Lynn! Thanks, Dick!

All of this helped my mental state, but did nothing for how I felt. I’m doing a bit better today, but went to the dentist and he urged me again to get a crown on one of my teeth. I’ve avoided it because of the cost, but it will only get worse so this afternoon I’m getting a temporary. Am I afraid? You’re darn right I am! šŸ™‚

My weight was the lowest it has been since surgery in January. Don’t anyone be jealous. No one wants to lose weight this way. Trust me. Pray that I figure out stuff to eat and that the temp crown doesn’t make it harder.

I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired šŸ™‚ Yesterday was hard and emotional, but somehow the Lord is sustaining me. My wife is such a blessing, as are our friends. Your prayers and support continue to make such a huge difference. May God bless each and everyone of you.

When I was scared yesterday God brought Psalm 23 to mind and it comforted me.

4 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death, [a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

6 Surely goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.

(Psalm 23:4-6)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-16”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Hope you’re feeling better. Don’t rub it in about “DUH-Bears”. I did, however, watch the “DA-Cowboys” and THAT was a game! Not that I’ll become a fan, because we’re loyal you know. Ok, ok, your Packers are doing well. But I think you need another Brett Fathead now. Still praying BIG for you. Tell Magic hi.

Leave a Reply

