Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-21

I am officially a princess. As in Princess and the Pea. I can’t lay my head down without feeling pain. If I lay on the back of my head my scar hurts. If I lay on either side my ears act like the pea. I’m not kidding. So, you might ask, why don’t I lay on my face? Well, I’m still fond of breathing 🙂

I got a visit from my friend and groomsman Chris Volker, who lives in Phoenix. I taught him how to play Sequence and though I won the first game, he Volkerized me in the next two.

We haven’t seen each other since 2001 and Eileen hadn’t seen Chris since our wedding 24 years ago (tomorrow)! I was with Chris in the cafeteria in my dorm when I saw Eileen and said to Chris, “Hello my wife!” Prophetic, huh? 🙂 Here is a picture Chris took back in ’81. The guy with hair is really me. And you wondered how I got the girl, didn’t you?

Friday afternoon we went to Dunlap High School’s Homecoming. Lauren is a junior high cheerleader and looked very cute in her outfit.

Kelly is a sophomore this year and went to the dance Saturday night with her friend Blake. I guess we forgot to tell her she’s short. Why in the world would she stand downhill?

Saturday night Megan’s friends came over again, this time with Liz’s mom Mary Ellen, who made us an excellent pasta dinner. What did we do to say thanks? Taught her how to play The Great Dalmuti, of course 🙂 That’s her in the purple genie hat next to me.

Brooke, Megan, me, Mary Ellen, Zach (Brooke’s boyfriend), Eileen, Liz, Joey (Liz’s boyfriend)

Doesn’t Joey look cute in the pink wig? Just to prove how good he looks in I offer this as evidence:

I know many think it’s all fun and games here, but it’s rare that I’m not in some kind of pain no matter what kind of game or activity I’m participating in. Frankly, I need the distractions.

The temporary crown I got hurt a little before Saturday, but Saturday night is was incredibly painful (during cards). Oh, to those of you who told me a temporary crown was no big deal, I have just one word: “LIARS!”. Good news was I couldn’t feel my head pain. Reminded me of when I got hurt as a kid. My dad would say, “You want me to punch you in the nose so you don’t feel it?” Actually, if it would help, I would.

Fortunately the tooth pain was much better this morning, but my head pain has been really bad tonight. Nothing I do  is helping. Please pray the pain goes away soon and that my MRI tomorrow is very positive. When the pain is this bad we get concerned.

Kelly turned 16 today and we surprised her by having a few of her friends over for dinner and cake. I know she was hoping for a cell phone, but the rule in our house is you have to be driving first. Don’t worry, Kel, it will happen soon. Definitely before you are 30.

Several of you wrote me a note that when I mentioned Psalm 43 the other day it brought to mind Isaiah 43. As a result Chris and I spent time reading it on Saturday and it was great. Here is my favorite verse:

“Yes, and from ancient days I am he. No one can deliver out of my hand. When I act, who can reverse it?” (Isaiah 43:13)

Thank you all for continuing to pray that God will “act” by healing me of this terrible cancer.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-21”

  1. Joan Stafford Rambatt Says:

    Hi Don, I am your second cousin, on your mother’s side. Dick and Elaine Stafford were my folks. I just want to say that I have been praying for both you and your Dad. Plus I have been keeping up with your writings & pictures. My sister, Judy Halpin, left a comment for you, way back when, and she is doing well after her chemo and radiation for colon cancer. She will testify that prayers are a “giant help” with cancer and its treatments. I, also, have enjoyed getting to know your wife and family alittle better by reading your blogs.
    Jesus is Lord and does do miracles! Take care and God Bless. Your cousin……Joan Rambatt

  2. Michelle Dennedy Says:

    Don my funny & brave friend,

    I just ran into Eve & she told me where you were & what you have been facing. As a privacy geek I am very impressed, honored & humbled to be privvy to your life right now, lived out loud.

    My thoughts & prayers are with you and your family. (Though you may get another pineapple.) Keep laughing at least 7 times a day. Apparently, it works to improve our ability to fight disease. More importantly, it’s fun & it’s how I always think of you.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

