Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-24

When my friend Chris was here last week we walked my course with his Garmin GPS Trainer. Very cool. It told us my course is 4.5 miles, which surprised me. Here is the map:

No wonder I’m losing weight. We burned 600 calories, which is a lot given how little I take in.

I had a lot of head pain over the weekend. No! It was not because my Packers lost, though that didn’t help. My friend Rob offered to bet me dessert on the game, but wouldn’t offer points. Hey, I’m a fan, but I’m not stupid šŸ™‚ I don’t think we’re going to see a Packers vs Jets Super Bowl. Bummer.

We got to celebrate our 24th anniversary on Monday with Mike and Wendy. We went to a place called Alexander Street Steak House where you cook your own meat. I don’t remember what Mike and I were laughing about, but I don’t think it was about Wendy šŸ˜‰

I married well, didn’t I? You don’t know the half of it

We went back to their place afterwards and played Rook, which I thought I’d played before but sure don’t remember. I let Wendy be my partner so she could win. Actually, now that I think of it we lost, so she’s definitely going back to being Eileen’s partner. šŸ™‚

I went to see Dr. Geoffroy today and he told me that my MRI on Monday “looked great.” I am quite relieved. Waiting two months is a long time. When I have head pain, which is often, it’s hard not to wonder what is going on. My labs also looked good today so I will have treatment on Friday. I’m guessing I have 13 more to go. That number isn’t shrinking nearly fast enough šŸ™‚

Now both my feet have issues. My left foot has something wrong with the heel and my right foot is quite sore on the outside edge in the middle. I was going to try to walk anyway, but just couldn’t, so I rode the stationary bike for the first time.

If you think my legs are skinny, I would kill to have that much meat on my butt! Why do we men often have no problem developing a cushion in the front and none in the back? I know it doesn’t shift because of gravity šŸ™‚ I’m going to need to find a huge pillow or something. I was surprised at how wobbly I felt when I got done. It really is a good workout – if you can keep those handle bars from wacking your knees!

I shaved my face completely for only the second time since college. No one even noticed. I pointed it out to Kelly right before she took this picture. Shiny, huh?

The first time I accidentally shaved a chunk off one side. I literally stood there for a minute or two trying to figure out what to do, as if somehow I was going to glue it back on šŸ™‚ Maybe my brain tumor started growing a long time ago. Megan was three and Amy was a baby. Neither one recognized me and started crying. Eileen says she noticed this time, but didn’t say anything because now I look like some of the other cancer patients. Hmmmm. I’m not sure what to say. I’m definitely not putting Rogaine on my face!

Please continue to pray for me and when you do pray the same thing for my friends Tim and Colleen. As I’ve said they have the same thing, but are farther along this very long road. Tim is having surgery again next month so remember his wife and sons too. I would consider it a personal favor.

“18 Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.

19 See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the desert
and streams in the wasteland.”

(Isaiah 43: 18-19)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

