Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-03

Wednesday I took a longer lunch and went golfing with my friend Shannon for his birthday. I was beating him by one stroke going into the 9th and ended up losing by one. Curse his fancy hybrid club 🙂

Shannon’s dad runs a garage door business and after we returned he adjusted my door (long a problem) like a professional. I felt like it was my birthday. Shannon has also been helping me fix the ethernet wiring in my house. It’s only been wrong for six years! A rank amateur must have done it. Yes, I’m sure of it because it was me 😦 Thanks, Shannon!

I was supposed to sing in the choir on Wednesday night, but just didn’t feel up to it physically. Thursday I felt even more like I was coming down with something. I could not get warm. Even a hot bath didn’t help. Fortunately by late afternoon I was doing much better.

Thursday night I went to soaking prayer. Our friend Bonnie Christe has been having frequent migraines over the past two years, so I asked her to join. I recently got to meet Dave and Kim Pendergrass when Dave shared his testimony via video at Northwoods. Dave has prostate cancer that has metastasized and like me needs a miracle. I hunted him down and felt like I was instantly bonded to the two of them. When I suggested to Kim on Tuesday that they join us at soaking prayer she said the timing was perfect. So they did.

Noah and Bonnie Christe, me, Dave and Kim Pendergrass

It was a great time and all of us left encouraged, full of hope and believing God is going to perform miracles. We know that just because we prayed doesn’t mean God will do something, but we know that nothing can stay the arm of the Lord if He does want to act – nothing. Leesa Tiethoff runs the Northwoods’ Prayer Ministry and the vision is people being able to drive on campus 24/7 and be prayed for. I believe I am the biggest beneficiary of this ministry. Thanks, Prayer Team!

I was glad today was Friday and happier that it was not a treatment Friday. Sometimes I think about only having a week until treatment like Eeyore and not Tigger, but I’m working on it.

My big surprise today was a visit from my boyhood and high school friend Paul Butler. Paul’s with Humana and was in town for meetings with OSF Health Plans. I was so happy he stopped by on his way back.

If I had seen him anywhere but at my front door I would not have recognized him. It’s been at least 20 years and maybe 30! But as soon as I heard his voice it was like being back in Macomb in seventh grade together (with his twin Pat). Paul, we will definitely come up to visit you and Karla. We didn’t get to talk about any of the “good” stories, but we will. 🙂 Thanks for making my day!

Walking and biking has been a problem this past week. My feet still hurt and no cushion depth seems sufficient for my butt bones on the bike. No pain, no gain, I guess. I’m still finishing Isaiah and came across this favorite passage the other day:

10 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

11 “All who rage against you will surely be ashamed and disgraced; those who oppose you will be as nothing and perish.

12 Though you search for your enemies, you will not find them. Those who wage war against you will be as nothing at all.

13 For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

(Isaiah 41:10-13)

Not fearing is easier said than done when you have a life-threatening illness, but this helps:

18 There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. (1 John 4:18)
I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!
One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-03”

  1. Lewis & Virginia Wall Says:

    Don, we were so sorry to learn of your illness. We;ve added you to our prayer list. We no longer live in Macomb but in Saint Charles MO in a retirement community. Our regards to Eileen and the girls. Lewis Wall

Leave a Reply

