Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-07

It was as good a weekend as is possible when the Packers lose. I’ve gotten better and stop crying much faster, but when Green Bay loses it discourages me. Yes, the 70’s and 80’s were hard 🙂 I was glad to see that Aaron Rodgers sucked it up even with a separated shoulder and played. Favre would have.

They started installing the carpet yesterday and finished it today. One guy did it by himself and I’m still amazed. I think it looks fantastic and I like it better than the berber we had before. I guess the water damage ended up being a blessing in disguise.

Eileen had talked about faux finishing the stairwell for the past few years and she wanted to get it done before the carpet was replaced. She didn’t start until about 4pm on Sunday, but somehow finished before 8:30pm. I think it looks very cool. Here’s a before and after. It totally hides the poor drywall finishing from when the house was built.


She mixed a darker brown with glaze, rolled it on and then used big strips of plastic to get the effect. I couldn’t do it in a million years. Here is a better picture.

Fortunately Mike came over to watch Sunday Night Football and constructed a support to balance the ladder on the stairs so Eileen could reach the top. If I didn’t worry about OSHA coming after me I’d show you what we jerry-rigged earlier:-) Maybe she can earn money doing this and I can retire. Wait, then she would truly be doing everything. Still…

Mike really came over to help me fix the couch again. I’m not sure why I say “help me”, since he comes up with all the ideas and does all the work. Hey, someone has to make up for Wendy. Kidding, Wendy! 🙂 If the couch breaks again I don’t think even Mike can fix it. It’s amazing how beautiful it is and how poorly constructed. Actually, I’d call it criminal.

Yesterday was tough for me. I forgot what really a bad headache can do to me. Not just physically, but emotionally. I finally decided to take a walk in the late afternoon. I hadn’t exercised since last Wednesday because of my foot pain and being lazy. It’s probably the longest “rest” since January. When I got done, as I told my friend Kirt, who I saw during my walk, I didn’t feel better physically, but I felt MUCH better emotionally. When I walk I listen to the bible on my ipod and pray. God uses that time to remind me how BIG he is and that it isn’t about me. It’s then that I’m able to tell Him, “Lord, you know I am a wimp when it comes to pain, but if somehow this causes me to be dependent on you and if it brings glory to your name, then I’m willing to continue to endure.” I’m sure that probably seems strange to some of you, but the joy I feel at that moment is pretty hard to describe. As my friend Steve loves to say, “Faith in God isn’t a crutch, it’s a stretcher.” 🙂 Thank goodness!

I still pray for the head pain to go away and would appreciate if you would too. It isn’t much better today. Pray also for my friend Tim, who has his second brain surgery on Thursday.

Hair Update: I am fast on my way to being hairless. Even the formerly more dense hair on my forearms is now very close to being “bald.” I love not worrying about hair in my ears :-), but finally figured out that my increased sneezing and runny nose is because I don’t have nose hair either. Bummer.

I’m not sure if my ipod is malfunctioning or if God just wanted me to listen to Isaiah 41-50 again. Finally the ipod noted that I listened to them yesterday, so maybe whatever message He wanted me to hear, I heard 🙂

5 I am the LORD, and there is no other;
apart from me there is no God.
I will strengthen you,
though you have not acknowledged me,

6 so that from the rising of the sun
to the place of its setting
men may know there is none besides me.
I am the LORD, and there is no other.

(Isaiah 45:5-6)
I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-07”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    you must have been watching the wrong game Don. The only thing I cried for the last two weeks were tears of joy. Have mercy on me…I’ve gone from DUH to DA Bears. Don’t worry, I’m realistic though. You can imagine how confusing it is for me down here: a forever Bear fan in the midst of EIU cheesehead Tony Romo land (ok Longhorns really). That’s just plain confusing if you ask me. Praying you are feeling well today and that your headaches are at a minimum. Get ready for your BIG BIRTHDAY celebration soon! Tell me it won’t be a Packer’s cake?

Leave a Reply

