Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-09

Last week I figured out the garage door opener Shannon had fixed needed a new circuit board, so I ordered it from Fleming Door and Window Co. They sent John to deliver it and he offered to install it for me, which made my day. Thanks, John (and Fred)!

You can see I’m in my work clothes πŸ™‚ I have interacted with Fleming several times since we built our house in 2002 and they have always exceeded my expectations and delighted me as a customer. This time was no exception. I hadn’t realized the board was essentially the entire front of the opener. Electronics are cool.

I was veryΒ  pleasantly surprised on Wednesday when my lab work came back quite good. For the first time in a while I wasn’t anemic. As a result. I’m cleared for treatment tomorrow, my 10th and possibly the halfway point. I try not to think about it because it seems like I’ve been doing this forever. But God got me this far and He can see me the rest of the way.

I wanted to make it clear that the Walk for the Mind event I attended two weeks ago was not a charity where they were giving away a new brain. It was to raise money for brain tumor research. You got that, right? πŸ™‚

This morning I got my permanent crown. I was worried because I was in pain several days after they put in the temporary crown and I thought this might be as bad or worse. However, the pain was bearable and it didn’t take very long either.

My dentist is from Nigeria and I really like him. He has a great sense of humor and a very cool accent. I love the way he says “Don” (sounds like “cone” with a ‘d’). That said, I don’t want to see him for at least six months.

After we got home from the dentist I caught up on a few work items, then Eileen and I went to be with Denise, my friend Tim’s wife, her parents Glen and Jan, and Tim’s aunt and uncle, Kathy and Leon (pictured right to left).

Tim has the exact same cancer, though his tumor is on the left side of his brain. The surgery went well and when I talked to Denise tonight she said Tim’s speech had actually improved a bit, which was something we prayed for specifically! She was very encouraged and that encouraged me. Pray for Tim and Denise.

I was so selfish in my focus on being with Denise today that I completely forgot how this might impact Eileen. We were the first to get to the waiting room and it was then I realized this is where she had waited while I had my surgery. What an idiot I am. We cried and hugged and I apologized, but when I suggested we could leave she wanted to stay. Did I mention my wife is amazing? You think I have it hard? I can’t imagine our roles being reversed and lasting even a day. Wendy! Don’t you say one word! πŸ™‚

I went to soaking prayer tonight thanks to my friends Leanne and RayAnn (sisters) giving me a ride. I’ve had four days of head pain, still have pain in my feet and today I wrenched my bad right shoulder and it really hurts. So, I really needed the prayer. We all left feeling encouraged and of course I grabbed a picture when they drove me home.

RayAnn had lung cancer when we first met around six months ago, but it is now in remission – the doctors can’t explain it. We can πŸ™‚

I am taking my first flight alone since last November on 10/19 – without my seeing eye wife. I started a software company with friends from Austin last December and have been waiting for a good time to visit. It finally came and I can hardly wait. Not only do I get to see my partners, but I get to see many other close friends from when I worked at Sun. It will be very emotional and that won’t bother me a bit. πŸ™‚

Exercise update: After almost a week “off” I have walked three straight days. I also started doing push-ups again, but I’m not expecting to be buff anytime soon (though in my hairless condition all I’d need is a little body oil. Oh, and some posing lessons πŸ™‚ ). I used to do 500 a day, but that won’t be happening any time soon. Or probably in this lifetime.

10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 11 To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.” (1 Peter 5:10-11)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-09”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    A song for you:

    Have a great time in Austin! You are only a month ahead of me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

