Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-13

My treatment on Friday may have been one of the least eventful yet, which was very nice. I got a visit from two women who were in my high school class, Tana Welker Nelson and Vicki Skien Keets.

Vicki lives locally in Canton where she is a nurse and Tana was visiting from Loveland, CO. I still can’t believe they came by the house afterwards and I gave them a quick tour. It has to be the first time I didn’t just crash immediately. I don’t think either of them wanted the picture, but they did know the rules šŸ™‚ Thanks, Tana and Vicki!

I still remember going to Tana’s house where her older sister Diana gave me a perm to straighten my hair. Now I see I was really wasting my time and money šŸ™‚

Saturday night Lauren had her belated 13th birthday party with lots of her friends. She had asked us not to restore the basement to order so she and her friends could play down there. She complained about me taking this picture, but I got her to agree.

If you click on the picture to see the larger version you can see one of her friends likes pictures less than she does šŸ™‚ After they had all left I asked her how it went and she said, “It was loud.” We’ve had lots of girls over at our houses over the years and I’m pretty sure that description is always accurate.

Saturday I didn’t feel bad, but wasn’t up to doing much and didn’t. At least there was football to watch, actually more like listen to. Sunday we attended church and my friend/pastor Tim spoke on Psalm 23, which most people know, but when you are facing what I am verse 4 is even more meaningful:

4 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

(Psalm 23:4)

While meditating on this today I thought “would I really walk through the valley of the shadow of death?” I mean, we had a barn for a garage when I was a kid and even though I always wanted to walk to the house late at night (yes, even in HS and college) I would take off running within a few feet. It isn’t like I don’t face fear in this battle, but a big difference is in the last part of that verse. I know God is with me and my focus is on Him. When I spend time praying and listening to my bible they act like His rod and staff and they comfort me in a very real and tangible way. If you face fear in your life I’d highly recommend it.

I went into Kelly’s room today and could smell something burning. It was her hair. All of my girls inherited my beautiful curly hair – hey, I had it, trust me! Turns out they don’t like it any more than I did (read about my straightening above). However, today I realized for the first time what I really hate about that smell is that it is exactly what I smell in my nose for a few days after my treatment. It’s like there is a fire in my belly. Not fun. Drinking water doesn’t put it out. Ice cream helps a little – DQ even more šŸ™‚

Thank you for praying for my friend Tim who had brain surgery on Thursday. I saw Tim briefly in his ICU room before I began my treatment on Friday and he looked and sounded good. I got to talk with both he and his wife Denise today and they sounded great. He’s already worried about being bored. We are all so encouraged. Praise God!

Megan is on home for a short break, so tonight she’s making us dinner. She’s studying nutrition and I’m hoping to see a return on my investment. Tonight is also kazoo night. A few weeks ago some of my good friends in Austin bought us kazoos for our 24th wedding anniversary because the gift right before silver is, of course, musical instrument šŸ™‚ So, I promised them our entire family would create a YouTube video of us playing a song. I can already hear the whining from a couple, but it IS happening – promise.

OK, so no one will be hiring us anytime soon, but we did have fun. I am pretty amazed that I can sing because I sure can’t play the kazoo.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Tags:

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-13”

  1. Peter Says:

    Don

    I love it! You are a lucky fella – but you already know that.

    take care, feel better soon

    Peter

Leave a Reply

