Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-28

I had my 11th treatment on Friday and I’m hopefully past the half way point. I like having my own private room, but I end up resting/sleeping the majority of the time. The last 30-45 minutes are the longest.

This was before I got my IV, which I hate. I am easily cold, but I love these heated blankets they get from the warmer, wish we had one at home. My nurse Jerrie tells me that the lydocaine shot that I get so I don’t feel the IV is worse, and this time I’m tempted to believe her.

I had to start taking temodar on Friday night. Mike and Wendy were over for a bit and got to see me lose my dinner four times in a row within a couple minutes of taking the pills. It is just the nastiest stuff you have ever tasted. I was fine the last three nights and right now I’m going to take the last ones. Wish me luck…

YUCK! At least they’re going to stay down and I have 23 days until I have to take any more!

Amazingly I was able to sing in the choir at church both Saturday night and Sunday morning. I think the temodar makes me even more tired, but I love going and it always lifts my spirits even higher. I’m sure it’s the company 🙂

Eileen and Megan have been working on the Extreme Makeover Home Edition house during this past week. They were both so excited. Here they were after the first day last week.

They weren’t supposed to take any pictures while they were working in the house, but of course Wendy can’t obey the rules. Can we really be surprised? When Ty shows up at her house and has the FBI with him and not a bunch of designers it won’t be funny. OK, I might laugh a little 🙂

That looks like one of the hip designers, doesn’t it? But it’s my daughter Megan in front of the house!

Eileen swore she would stay to hear them say, “Move that bus!”, but she ended up coming home early(5:00), she got there at 7:30am. Two other friends, Mary and Cheryl, got to help Michael Maloney(designer) most of the day. Wendy mostly had to clean the small pool room, probably to pay for her picture sins.

Last night my head was really hurting me. I don’t think it’s as bad as people experience with migraines, but it is incredibly painful. As soon as I could I took both pain and sleeping pills. This morning it wasn’t near as bad and working in that state would be a real challenge – and not the kind I like 🙂

After being off almost a week I finally walked the past two days. I listened to some podcasts on how God grows our faith and also some Psalms. This passage is becoming a favorite for me:

2 Guard my life, for I am devoted to you.
You are my God; save your servant
who trusts in you.

3 Have mercy on me, O Lord,
for I call to you all day long.

4 Bring joy to your servant,
for to you, O Lord,
I lift up my soul.

5 You are forgiving and good, O Lord,
abounding in love to all who call to you.

6 Hear my prayer, O LORD;
listen to my cry for mercy.

7 In the day of my trouble I will call to you,
for you will answer me.

8 Among the gods there is none like you, O Lord;
no deeds can compare with yours.

9 All the nations you have made
will come and worship before you, O Lord;
they will bring glory to your name.

10 For you are great and do marvelous deeds;
you alone are God.

(Psalm 86:2-10)
My optical mouse stopped working yesterday and since I had something else to return we went to Best Buy tonight. I keep thinking I’m not good at much more than talking on the phone, but I forget that I’m not bad at taking things back. Hey, I once took year old worn, but clean, underwear back and convinced Penny’s it was defective. You not only have to be good, but have zero pride 🙂

Anyway, I first tried to return a wired headset I bought two months ago. Their first line of defense was that it was past the 30-day return policy, but I was sure I would succeed. I didn’t and it was my first failure.  Only one thing to do – call them tomorrow on the phone :-). Stick with your strengths. Then I tried to get them to refund my money on a broken optical mouse that I bought six months ago. I succeeded and it has now turned into a working bluetooth mouse. One for two is disappointing.

It’s hard to believe I am actually turning 50 tomorrow. I don’t know what I thought it would feel like when I was younger, but this wasn’t it. That said, don’t think I’m in the least bit disappointed. When I found out I had stage 4 brain cancer in January I wasn’t sure I’d even make it to 50. Please join me as I pray daily for a miracle from God for 40 more years – 2048.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

5 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-28”

  1. Alice & Paul Trimmer Says:

    Happy Birthday!! Have a blessed and beautiful day.
    We are friends of your parents from First Presbyterian in Macomb and have been reading your blog for months! Thank you for sharing with us. You and the whole family are in our prayers!

    Blessings and Peace!

    Paul & Alice

  2. William Says:

    Don, Julie is my sister in law …… you already know she’s a great person. I don’t know anything better to say than LIVESTRONG. I wear a livestrong braelet everyday – and always will for brave pepole like you.

    Turn straight into the wind, select a higher gear and climb that next hill. I think LIVESTRONG everytime I meet those conditions. On and off life’s road. william

  3. drunk driving help Says:

    drunk driving help

    Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-28 | Wizard of IdM’s Weblog

  4. riverside dui attorney Says:

    Hi my friend! I wish to say that this article is awesome, great
    written and come with approximately all important infos. I would like to peer extra
    posts like this .

  5. learn this here now Says:

    learn this here now

    Don Bowen Update: 2008-10-28 | Wizard of IdM’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

