Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-11

I’m still here! I’ll keep writing these as long as God lets me, but I was either too busy, not in the mood or didn’t feel well. Fortunately not much of the latter. Of course two straight, very close Packer losses has been very difficult on me šŸ™‚

I plan to upload the other videos from my surprise 50th on 11/1, but Kevin has already uploaded the video he, Andy and Tamara created. It’s pretty funny. Click here to see it.

I forgot to mention Megan’s interaction with Ty Pennington when she was working with Eileen on the Extreme Makeover Home Edition in Pekin. Here it is verbatim:

Ty: Hey, is this the trash?

Megan: Yes, it is.

Ty: (throwing the trash away) Thanks.

Megan: You’re welcome (followed by hyperventilating)

Supposedly he also said “hi” to her later. Megan said “it was magical.” I would have been so tempted to yell my answers like he does with his bullhorn. I love that part.

My friend Rick Lingenfelter posted a video on his blog that he took of me when I had the privilege of speaking to the fourth and fifth graders at our church a little over a week ago. Click here and scroll down a bit to see it. Thanks to both Rick and Kevin Elder.

I really appreciate you praying for my labs last week. They were very good. In fact my platelets were at 158K, which is great. I had my treatment on Friday and when we were waiting for transportation to the room (why can’t they just let us walk there by ourselves?) we saw Amy Paul. Amy was a news person for WMBD Channel 31 and came to our house over a year ago. A lot has changed since then.

Not sure why I have a Jack Nicholson smile. She recognized me, or more likely the intense shine from my cue ball, and had heard I was fighting brain cancer. She is now Executive Director of Strategic Communications and as nice as ever. Great to see you, Amy!

If it wasn’t for Jerrie, the charge nurse that personally sees to my treatment every time, I’m not sure I would deal with them nearly as well. When we got to the room this time someone must have asked for a firm mattress šŸ™‚

It was another all day affair, mostly waiting for the pharmacy again. I actually thought I was doing pretty well when we left, but I was pretty sick later that night and for the third time couldn’t keep dinner down. Fortunately I didn’t have to take temodar this time.

I didn’t feel great Saturday or Sunday, but we did go to a Bradley basketball game and dinner with our friends Nate and Sherry Miller. How in the world did I forget to take a picture?

One of the things I’m battling most right now is the chemical burn in my mouth. I thank God I haven’t had mouth sores lately, but the blistering is almost daily and sometimes even more frequent. Please pray this doesn’t continue to worsen over the next five months.

Headache update: Since last Thursday I have probably not exceeded 3 on a scale from 1-10. And often, other than some eye pressure it’s been like 1 or even 0! Could my radiation hangover finally be subsiding? It’s nice to have less pain. God is good.

Exercise Bike Update: Not sure if I mentioned it, but when my brother-in-laws were here for my surprise 50th they told us that the reason the arms on the exercise bike were hitting our knees was because they were put on backwards! Today I reversed them and both Eileen and I had a good laugh. Sorry Sherri, you can’t have it back šŸ™‚

Please pray for my MRI on Thursday and our trip to Duke this weekend. As you can imagine you start getting anxious after two months and you want to know what is really going on in your head. I feel confident that the results will be positive, but my trust is in the Lord. Pray that we both continue to feel God’s peace. Singleton’s we are really looking forward to seeing you

My exercise regime has been pathetic over the past two weeks, but today was my second day in a row. It is amazing how motivated you can become when you think exercise might be a life or death issue. It is my way of physically shouting, “I WILL NEVER GIVE UP!”

I listened to John 14 and 15 today while I walked. Jesus tells us twice to “love each other” (John 15:12, 15:17) and I spent some time meditating on that and realized that I could improve a lot in this area. (Honey, you do NOT need to add any comments when you review this!) Really loving others as you love yourself, as we are told to do in the great commandment is not really that easy, or is it just me?

Anyway, one of my favorite verses in John 14 is:

“He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.” (John 14:21)

Sorry, I memorized this in the King James version years ago and in any other version it just doesn’t sound right to me. šŸ™‚ One of the many gifts I’ve received as the result of my brain cancer is Jesus “manifesting” Himself, revealing to me who He really is and how much He love me, in ways I never thought I would. It is so like God to take what seems so bad and make it so good.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

