Don Bowen Update: 20008-11-18

IN THIS UPDATE: Trip to Duke, MRI results, headache answers, future treatment schedule, but no pictures. Sorry. After my friend Tamara called me “Picture-taker Extraordinaire”, I forgot my camera everywhere I went – including the trip this past weekend to Duke. I put it in the charger to make sure it was charged and left without it.

My MRI last Thursday went well, but somehow I forget how long 25 minutes lying on my head can be. I didn’t ask for enough cushion, so I was glad when it was done. I won’t make that mistake in January.

Friday night Eileen and I went to see Forever Plaid at Peoria Players Theatre. It’s about a quartet from the 50’s that died when their car was hit by a parochial bus. They come back to earth and perform their act. Our parents would have known more of the songs, but the singing was excellent. I remember hearing “Three Coins in a Fountain” and “Love is a Many Splendored Thing” when I was very young. They did a three-minute version of The Ed Sullivan show that was just incredible and very funny. Yes, we were some of the youngest there.

Our friend Rob Singleton picked us up from the brand new terminal 2 at Raleigh-Durham (RDU) airport Saturday night and less than an hour later I was eating his wife Kim’s excellent turkey chili. We had such a good time visiting that Sunday evening I suddenly remembered why I was there. ☺

Their son Walker, who’s 10 and quite mature, said several things that cracked me up. He and I were playing catch with a football and he asked me if I knew that Phil Mickelson and his wife had been infertile and then had two kids after adopting. I heard Kim whisper to Eileen, “I don’t think he knows what infertile means” and them Walker says, “And no, I don’t know what infertile means.” ☺ It’s hard to believe that we were only gone for about 54 hours, a little over two days. Thanks, Singletons!

“Terrific.” That’s what Dr. Reardon said about my MRI. Eileen asked, “Better than last time?” and he said, “It would be hard to look better than last time.” ☺ I asked if I could push my treatment cycle which startsDecember 19th out two weeks to January 2nd. I’m supposed to sing in the quartet at church the 19th thru the 24th and though my pride wants to just go for it and do both, I really have to start acting my age. ☺ Anyway, I don’t want to jeopardize my life, but he said it would be minimal risk, so I’m considering it. However, please pray that I feel peace with that decision. If the MRI showed any tumor growth in January, I would always wonder if it was because I delayed those two weeks.

Speaking of age, while waiting to see my nurse, I guessed one of the physician assistant’s was in his late thirties. The receptionist said, “He’s older.” After she told me how old he was I asked her how old she thought I was and she said, “Am I going to get in trouble?” I said, “Of course not. You can’t offend me. Take a guess.” She said, “37” and I just turned to Eileen and smiled. When I told her I was 50 she didn’t believe me. Bald is both beautiful AND young looking ☺.

I finally asked how much longer my treatment will be. I’ve completed six four-week cycles and I have six more to go to complete the full year. At the end, right now around mid-April, I have to go to Duke for a PET scan. If that looks good I stop treatment and monitor with an MRI every two months. I’ve come a long way, but have a long way to go. Please stick with me and keep praying for: Complete healing 2) Restored vision 3) No side-effects, especially headaches.

So what is causing my headaches? They aren’t positive, but Darnell the physician assistant wants me to do bio-rhythm stuff. I said, “What does that mean?” She said, “You need to deal with stress. You’re too tense and intense.” Who? Me? Well, I can’t promise anything, but I’ll try.

On the return flight we were on a pretty small plane to Chicago and in row 18 , the last row and next to the smelly restroom. Eileen must have still been jealous of the receptionist’s comment when she said, “Is this what your executive platinum status gets us?” I was a little slow or I would have said, “Did you hear? I look 37”, but I know where my bread is buttered. Ironically, a few minutes later I turned to the flight attendant and said, “These are the seats you get when you fly free.” (since I had used points) She said, “Actually, I’m surprised. Supposedly these seats have extra leg room so usually they’re given to an Exec Plat member.” You don’t say ☺

We actually have a great time traveling together and never forget that God has been blessing us in incredible and amazing ways. Please know how much we value and appreciate all your support and prayers.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

