Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-26

I sent out a note on Tuesday (not on my blog) saying that I had had an appointment with my opthalmologist that morning. After he realized that my recent decrease in vision happened AFTER the last MRI he immediately scheduled me for another MRI a couple hours later.

Have I mentioned that it hurts my head to lay on that MRI table for 35-40 minutes? Have I mentioned that even though I ask for and get additional padding it only seems like enough for the first 10 minutes? You’ve heard the definition of insanity, right? Doing the same thing over and over and hoping for different results 🙂 Long story short – I thought I had enough cushion, I didn’t and man did my head hurt at the end.

Well, today we went back in to hear what Dr. Kattah, the opthalmologist, had to say about the MRI. It didn’t seem like it would be possible that there could be tumor growth in less than two weeks, but what could have caused the vision loss?

Dr. Kattah said the MRI looked only very slightly worse. He also said it was possible that this was due to swelling from radiation. Eileen reminded him that it had been over eight months since I completed radiation. It was funny. With an excited push on his stool he swooshed over to her clasped her knee and said, “You see, that’s exactly what it does!” 🙂 He said if the vision decrease was due to swelling it was reversible. We scheduled an appointment for December 16th and left pretty encouraged.

However, I had been praying constantly that the MRI would be no worse and even better so even though he said, “only slightly worse” I confess I was a bit disappointed. Right after the MRI we made sure they sent a copy of it to Duke. I was anxious for Dr. Reardon to tell me what he thought, but sure I’d have to wait until after Thanksgiving.

Well, Ted Kennedy didn’t go to Duke because he’s rich and just doesn’t know how to spend his money when his life is on the line! 🙂 Amazingly I got a call from Dr. Reardon tonight! I am still surprised, but I shouldn’t be. Duke is AWESOME. The first thing he said to me was, “I don’t see any difference in the scan, Don. I compared this latest one to the one from November 13 and the one in September and they are the same.” I was sitting down on my bed, but inside I was jumping up and down. I then asked him if my plan not to do treatment over the holiday was still ok and he said that unless things get worse between now and then it shouldn’t be a problem. I asked him about the vision and he agreed with Dr. Kattah that it could very well be swelling from radiation or the chemo and that it would very possibly be reversible.

The vision impairment I had initially was not great, but I would love to get it back 🙂 Please pray that I do.

I was already very thankful for all that God has done in my life. I know I’m extremely blessed. And though I know the positive news I got today is no guarantee my vision will improve it’s a great way to start celebrating Thanksgiving.

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

11 “All who rage against you
will surely be ashamed and disgraced;
those who oppose you
will be as nothing and perish.

12 Though you search for your enemies,
you will not find them.
Those who wage war against you
will be as nothing at all.

13 For I am the LORD, your God,
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.”

(Isaiah 41:10-13)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-26”

  1. Pam Lingenfelter Says:

    Don,
    I am praising God with you that you got good news! I will continue to lift you up in prayer. . . specifically for recovery of your vision and continued healing. I am claiming the verses in Isaiah 41 with you!

    In Christ,
    Pam

Leave a Reply

