Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-30

My Packers are basically done for the year and I’m bummed, but if you can’t cover kick-offs any better than that you don’t deserve to be in the playoffs. Very discouraging. Did I just hear someone say, “It’s just football?” I hope not 🙂

My brother Steve just posted pictures from my 50th of both my family and Eileen’s. For some reason my sisters think it is hilarious to have me, Steve and dad show our bald heads. I don’t get it, but I’m all about helping people laugh so maybe you’ll enjoy.

Dad Update: Speaking of my dad, I forgot to write that his PSA results recently came back incredibly good at .01, so the procedure on his prostate was a huge success. Dad was just as excited that he shot even par and their food pantry got 15,000 lbs of food. I told him I think he needs a harder course, though where would I play when I visit?

We spent Thanksgiving with Eileen’s family and had a really good time. I played Liverpool Rummy for the first time in a while. I lost big, but smiled when I remembered we’ll be on vacation with Mike and Wendy a week from today 🙂

Eileen has six siblings and there are 20 grandchildren, 35 people in all! There were games going on everywhere. Here are some cousins playing telephone pictionary with a game of liverpool rummy in the background.

Since my last treatment I’ve struggled a lot with my vision, though my headaches have been better, especially if I keep my eyes closed. My stomach and mouth have bothered me a lot recently. I don’t have mouth sores, but I can’t get rid of this bad taste and it constantly feels like it is chemically burned. I think that’s because it is 🙂

One of my favorite parts of our Thanksgiving feast is the bringing out of the pies, which I am now calling Piegasbord. See that chocolate pie? Even my stomache and mouth couldn’t keep me from two pieces 🙂

Before we left on Friday my mother-in-law Joan showed me the “book” I have written since finding out I had a tumor December 20th, 2007. She has printed every update I’ve sent out and though I knew it was a lot the size still surprised me. I never envisioned it would be that much, but the blessing this has been to me is indescribable.

By far the most encouraging things has been hearing how others are encouraged in their own battles by reading about mine. It’s so typical of God to take something that looks so bad and use it for good. I just got a note from my friend Tana who found out last week she has cancer. She said it’s been hard, but going back to read how God has helped me has encouraged her. This is EXACTLY how God works. Read this:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

The Peoria paper had a picture of me describing the article on my blog that will be in Wednesday’s edition as the health feature. Amazingly, there was an even bigger picture of Megan, who’s going to be dancing in Peoria Player’s “Christmas in the City” December 18-21.

We got our first snow of the year today. It was wet and heavy, but neither Eileen or I had a heart attack shoveling the driveway. On the drive to church I realized what a poor parent I’ve been when I heard several of the girls say, “Oh, I just love it when it snows.” Really? Actually I’m happy to know because if they like snow, they’ll love shoveling. 🙂

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-30”

  1. Bob Geraci Says:

    Don,

    Friend found your site for us. My wife Pat at 54, diagnosed with GBM Nov. 07 and long story short, after being told nothing could be done where we live (because of location of tumor), we discovered Duke and the two Friedmans and they saved her life. Been one heck of a year and we’re never out of the woods, but she’s still here, compared to what would have occurred had we heeded first advice. Is there a way to get to your first web entries besides scrolling through each of the previous buttons (I’m probably missing something obvious)? Besides the successful operation, horrible radiation, continued horrible temodar, the drug that I believe is saving her life so far is avastin. I don’t know if you will have time to respond to this, guessing you get too many to do so, but it is great reading your story.

    Bob

  2. Laura B. Says:

    Don,

    I am excited to find your blog! There is a brain tumor community out there on the internet and is great to find others fighting with strength and humor. My husband is 52 and was diagnosed with a GBM in Jan. of 2007. We live in Ohio, get chemo (Avastin and CPT-11) in Indiana and visit Duke every 12 weeks. We are scheduled for a visit Dec. 8. Hoping his MRI continues to show a stable situation.

    Wish you the best of luck! Fight like it is your job and laugh like it is your passion!

    Go Packers!! (I am still a closet Favre fan!)

  3. Gayla Says:

    I just read the article the Journal Star wrote about you. I’m impressed by your tenacity. You have a great sense of humor. I’m a firm believer that laughing contributes greatly to our health.
    Don’t let anyone give you guff about your bald head – bald is sexy! I know many women that would agree with me.
    Your blog left me with exactly what you had hoped for – I am uplifted, I laughed, and I left feeling challenged. Keep up the good fight – I’m praying BIG for you!

Leave a Reply

