Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-03

In this update: the tree is up, funny hair and vision updates, I get the WHOLE back page in the local paper.

Well, it is officially Christmas time at the Bowen’s. Eileen put up both the trees. I love the tree in the basement because it matches the wall and is very pretty. Yes, I said “very pretty”, but in a very deep voice πŸ™‚

Hair update: I am still basically hairless, though I have to shave. I am thinking of plucking one of the 6-8 chest hairs I have left and asking some elite school’s medical program to analyze it. They are the toughest and strongest hairs on the planet.

Vision update: Unfortunately I’m still having real problems seeing. Cross your eyes and try to read. My vision is a little better than that. I missed hearing a number on the news tonight, so I asked Eileen to repeat it. Instead she drew in the air with her finger. I said, “Honey, I can barely see your finger.” Maybe if she was waving a light sabre I would have a chance. πŸ™‚

Monday was a totally pain free and productive day. Yesterday was too until around 6:30pm. If I knew how to live a bit more balanced I’m sure it would help, but I don’t and it doesn’t. Last night for some reason I was struggling a bit more to see and started worrying about it. My friend Tamara said, “Oh, you mean you’re still human?” Smart-aleck! Anyway, my right eye was hurting from doing all the work so I asked Amy to loan me the patch from her eye accident back in 2004. I was thinking if I forced all the work on the left eye maybe it would get stronger.

When Eileen came home she took one look and wasn’t pleased. “You over did it, didn’t you?” I knew better than to respond. I also better leave my vision problems to my optometrist, Dr. Kern. Fortunately he is squeezing me in tomorrow.

I also had a scare last night when much of my right side became numb over a 15-20 minute period. It didn’t seem as serious as the headaches, but I did call Monahans and Garbers to pray for me. I was quite relieved that by the time I went to bed it was gone.

I had my labs today to see if I can have treatment on Friday. I find out if I can tomorrow. Both Kalli and Rita (fellow Packer fan), who have taken my blood almost every week since March, told me they had seen the article in the paper today about me. When they mentioned checking out my blog, I said, “Well, then I’ll write about you”. They’re super nice to me and often I literally can’t even feel the needle. I appreciate you, ladies!

The Peoria Journal Star article about me, called “Opening Up – online”, was basically the entire page with a HUGE picture of me in my office. Now I’m not saying they are biased, but I don’t know how anyone could manage to take a picture of my office and get almost zero Packer stuff, since it’s everywhere. Ryan is an impressive writer and I believe he truly captured the essence of me and my blog. I’m wondering if I should have him write it! πŸ™‚ You can read the article by clicking here. You made me cry, Ryan, not that it takes much. I wish you all could read some of the notes I get. You’d cry too.

Four days until vacation with Mike and Wendy. Pray for Wendy to have a good attitude about losing.

Last night I was fearful about my sight because I need to see to work and take care of my family. While walking I was listening to Luke. Typical of how God has comforted me all year, I heard:

“Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

“Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.”

(Luke 12:22-31)

When I finished walking almost an hour later my sight was not back or better, but I had complete peace. I pray that God will rebuild the cells and reconnect the optic nerves, but I don’t know if He will. I’ll take His peace and the joy of knowing the God who MADE the eye over seeing any day.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-03”

  1. mike lummis Says:

    Don,
    I read your story in the Peoria paper and you have a new friend !! I have traveled down the road you are now on-just a different route. 25 years ago in 1983 I was diagnosed with chondrosarcoma at age 34. Off to Mayos I went and came back minus a rt leg-hip-and part of my pelvis. Christmas 1983 was both a joyous and tragic time.
    Thus I kind of know what you are going thru. Every Dr.s appt is like a quiz or a test-when you pass it there is relief. (I never was much of a student !).
    You find strength you didn’t know you had and you find friends who are there for you every step of the way-and sadly, you find out that some of those people you thought were friends, tend to get busy or unavailable. But we can visit about that later sometime-if you want to.
    I have been blessed in my battle with the big CA. Great wife-good kids-friends-church support-does all that sound familiar ? The medical people are support and become your extended family but it all comes back to you. You will have good days and some bad days and when I had bad days I said things and took it out on others out of frustration-but they understood. I am getting a little wordy here for just introducing myself so I shall close. I will read your entire blog and write you again real soon. Keep fighting. A friend from Galesburg Mike

  2. Elizabeth Pisano Says:

    I also read your article in the paper. I was diagnosed with glioblastoma last May at the age of 23. I have been through surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. It’s been a long road, but I’m doing fabulous. With support from God and family, I truly believe that we can accomplish anything. If you ever want to chat with someone who has “been there” feel free to send me an email at blondi084@yahoo.com.

    God Bless!
    Elizabeth

  3. RITA Says:

    I will give you your quarter next time I see you. Thank you for the boost of confidence.

Leave a Reply

