Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-09

In this update: Last treatment for a month! Vacation in Orlando!

My labs last Wednesday came back good and I had my treatment on Friday. Barring anything serious I won’t have treatment again until January 2nd. Please pray that the I have no side-effects during this month off, including the rest of my vacation (which I’m on now).

When I went to admissions at the hospital on Friday I checked in with one of the gals and as I went to take a seat Deana, the other woman, said, “We want our pictures on the internet!” That brought a big smile to my face and I grabbed my camera and took a picture of Deana and Jennifer. Unfortunately, they will have to wait until next month to get their picture “on the internet” because my memory card failed me today and I lost that picture and one of my favorite nurse, Jerri.

For only the second time I got sick right before I left after treatment. Can I just say I *hate* throwing up. I could barely eat anything for dinner later and then threw that up too. It was not one of my better Friday’s. Saturday was a bit better, though I had to force myself to pack for our vacation to Orlando. It wasn’t that I wasn’t excited, just that laying down with my eyes closed felt better 🙂

Sunday morning we left for Orlando with Mike and Wendy bright and early. It was around 14 degrees so we were pretty excited about heading to Florida.

We flew Air Trans from Bloomington and I am missing my status from flying all the time. We were in the very back next to the engines. The cool thing was that they had XM radio in every seat, but somehow they had NO channels with NFL play-by-play. They had baseball and hockey. What is up with that? Didn’t baseball end in October? It was probably for the best since just hearing updates on my Packers losing again was painful enough. From 13-3 to probably not even .500. It’s a good thing I have bigger problems 🙂

Thanks to my friend Kevin we are enjoying an incredible condo with two nice and separate living quarters. We’ve already gotten in 4-5 games of euchre. As Mike said, “It’s like taking candy from a baby”. Are you praying for Wendy’s attitude? The three of them came back from shopping tonight and though I was sitting on the couch in plain sight, Wendy said, “Oh, did Don go to bed?” Pray harder 🙂

Today we drove to the Kennedy Space Center and let me just say, “Unbelievable!” Seriously, if you ever have a chance to visit, make sure you do. It is awesome and awe-inspiring. The two-hour bus tour was just incredible. To see things like the Vehicle Assembly Building with the largest painted US flag in the world (206 ft high),

launch pads 39A and 39B, alligators, bald eagles, etc. was fun, but the tour guide was fantastic. He was a former high school teacher, quite funny, and shared an impressive number of facts. One of my favorite was learning that the 400,000 gallons of water released at the base of the launch pad is not only to address the heat, but the sound, which otherwise would reflect and destroy the shuttle and shatter windows 17 miles away.

Seeing one of the few remaining Saturn V rockets still in existence was hard to get your brain around. It is hundreds of feet long and MASSIVE!

After the bus tour we went to a 45 minute iMAX movie on the international space station. To hear and see how so many countries have worked together to make that possible really makes you wonder why we haven’t solved some of the worlds bigger problems. They have to be easier.

Before we did the bus tour we went through the launch simulator. By the time we were ready to enter the “shuttle” and the guy said, “If you don’t think you can handle this it isn’t too late to exit”, I was thinking, “Surely this time my pride is going to kill me” 🙂 I found out later I wasn’t the only one thinking that. However, it wasn’t that bad. The people behind me are lucky. Will those on the Tower of Terror be as fortunate? 🙂

One thought kept coming to my mind over and over throughout the day.

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the LORD.

9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

(Isaiah 55:8-9)

There are some amazingly smart men and women in this world, but their knowledge is but a drop in the bucket compared to God’s.

Health-wise I’ve been doing pretty well. Thank you so much for praying. My stomach has been pretty good and though my head has hurt pretty bad a few times, it doesn’t last too long. My eyesight was a bit poorer tonight, but as I write I don’t think it has gotten any worse, which is great. Please continue to pray the  head (and neck) pain, which I think is from swelling, is minimal or non-existent.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

