Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-19

I finally went in to see my doctor about the pain in my chest on Monday and was glad that he had me get x-rays. I’m always a little apprehensive waiting for results on any procedure I have and this was no different. However, I got the results yesterday and was very happy to hear there are NO signs of any problems. I’d list the things I don’t have, but I can’t pronounce what she told me, let alone spell them πŸ™‚

We have been rehearsing all week for Northwood’s Christmas program, called “Christmas Is Here”. I wanted to post pictures of the set, which is really impressive, but when I asked Dawn Henderson, the director, she gave me her angry eye look.

So sensitive πŸ™‚ I still have the chest pain and tickle, but am expecting to be able to sing in all nine performances. It’s a lot of work, but we have so much fun. Be jealous, be very jealous. Last night I was listening to Beth Graichen (left) and Pam Lingenfelter (right) talk about Pam’s hair. Pam just had surgery for recurring cancer and can’t lift her arms to do her own hair. Beth does hair for a living (she’s doing mine for every performance – free!), but has a pinched nerve in her shoulder and couldn’t reach Pam’s hair either. I don’t try to find humor in others pain, but that is funny. Hey, even they thought it was funny.

I confess that I will be medicating myself, but you would too if you had to sing that high and potentially had a headache πŸ™‚ Fortunately it doesn’t affect how I sound.

Well, it was one year ago today that my family physician said to me, “Don, I’m sorry to tell you this, but you have a growth in your brain. I’ve scheduled an appointment for you with a neurosurgeon tomorrow.” I never should have gone alone. You could have knocked me over with a feather. It has been an amazing year and most of you have been with me from my first update on December 29, 2007. Thank you! Keep praying and we’ll do the next 40 years one at a time. My daily prayer is that I would get to see my grandchildren grow up and make personal commitments to Jesus.

We had close to a half inch of ice hit our area today so things have been pretty shut down.

Lauren was disappointed to miss the last day of school, though she loved skating all the way down the driveway.Β  Kelly was disappointed because now she has 2 finals to take when she returns. I think it’s great because when she says, “There’s nothing to do” I can just tell her to study for the finals. I just worry about driving in these conditions. We don’t need another car accident.

Megan is home until January 25th! What is going on with universities?! Is this how we prepare the next generation for the workforce? One month off at Christmas and three months off in the summer. What a life.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-19”

  1. Janelle Robison Says:

    Don,

    I’m so glad that you have been doing well and that you’ll be able to sing in your church’s Christmas program. Once before you posted a recording that you had done at church and I truly enjoyed listening. Is there any chance that you can do a recording of the program or at least your part?

    I’m still praying “BIG” and I know that God is listening. He continues to bless your life each and every day. You will never know the extent of your witnessing for Christ through the ups and downs of your life in this very public manner.

    I wish a Very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year to you and your family!

    Janelle (Diggs) Robison

Leave a Reply

