Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-23

In this update: Lots of pictures, seven performances down, Megan the toy soldier, coffee humor, freezing at home, failure after 21-years,worry and more.

For the first time in over six months I didn’t have an IV last Friday and I’m glad I didn’t. With my doctors blessing I pushed my treatment out an additional two weeks. My last treatment was December 5th and my next will be January 2nd. Not only will this let me enjoy the holidays better, but it also gave me a better chance of getting through all nine Christmas program performances. Tonight is number seven and tomorrow is number eight and nine. Here is a picture of our quartet. Click on it to see a larger version and you can see the amazing set, too.

Megan was in Peoria Player’s production of “Christmas in the City.” I never had a free night to see it so she gave me a hard time. She is an amazing dancer so I’m sorry I missed it. She does make a very cute toy soldier.

I like coffee quite a bit. I’m not the fanatic that my friends Tim Reist and Bill Allison are, but even they would have to admit that this cancellation due to weather shows anything can be taken too far. It says “Church of Jesus Christ Latte” if you can’t read it 🙂

My parents and family came to see the Christmas program on Sunday morning. We went to lunch afterwards and when I got home and was changing clothes it seemed incredibly cold. I’m always cold in the winter anyway, but I decided to check the thermostat. Good thing. 🙂

It was set at 70, so 59 was a pretty good indication that we had a problem (it got as low as 56). Fortunately Mike, one of our HVAC guys, came over and we finally figured out what the problem was. It took a while, but temperatures rose pretty quickly. It has seemed like 70 was cold in the past, but now that I know what 59 feels like I have a different perspective. Funny how that works 🙂 If it breaks down again I hope it isn’t on a Sunday. You think a service call is expensive? Wait until you have to pay triple time!

We didn’t fare quite as well with our dryer. After 21 faithful years of service we are finally having to divorce ourselves from the Speed Queen.

According to our service man, Terry, we got at least 10 years more than most people do. It would be interesting to know how many loads of clothes it has dried, but with four girls I’ll bet none of us could guess anything close. And yes, I have wondered what the cost to run it would total 🙂 I’m planning to outlive the new one too! We definitely did our share for the economy this weekend.

We finally took our family picture today. Better late than never. It’s at picture time that I am envious of Mike and Wendy and their sons. I think next year I will video some of the behind the scenes “drama” for your entertainment. You will be laughing out loud – at our (me and Eileen) expense 😦

The original didn’t look quite this good, but thanks to Amy it got a lot better. I didn’t want to be outdone by the NFL so I am also providing you with a shot from the reverse angle, kind of. We actually got it printed tonight. Walmart said it would take three days, but Walgreens did it right away. The girl said, “People think we close by 10, but we’re open until midnight.” Finally being a night owl paid off!

I walked yesterday morning for the first time in close to two weeks. I just wasn’t sure I could afford the energy while we were doing long nights of practice and for the first few performances. I felt pretty well most of the day, but by mid-afternoon I was not feeling well. I was nauseous and my head really hurt. 30 minutes before I had to go on I was still hurting and so was one of my co-performers, Connie. But as He has often done, God touched both of us and we felt much better when we went on stage. Tonight I’m feeling well and am actually writing this back stage. Hey, finding time to do this is not easy 🙂

I’ve been listening to a podcast series by Andy Stanley called “Why Worry”. In the third and last part he shares the story of Elijah in 1 Kings 19. Elijah had just seen (among other things) God send down fire to burn an alter that had been completely soaked with water in an amazing show of His incredible power. Yet when Elijah was threatened by Jezebel as a result he ran away in fear. He should have had faith, but instead he worried (and ran for 40 days and 40 nights!). Here’s what God said:

“There he (Elijah) went into a cave and spent the night. And the word of the LORD came to him: “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

(1 Kings 19:9)

I can relate so well. Within hours of seeing God work in my life in amazing ways I easily, and embarassingly, have short term memory loss and worry. What if this, what if that, on and on. From now on I hope to hear a small voice saying, “Don, what are you doing here? Have you forgotten so quickly what I’ve already done? Does worrying help?”

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

(Matthew 6:34)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

