Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-31

In this update: I have hair!, Christmas with our families, celebrating a friend’s life, treatment resumes.

I made it through all nine Christmas performances and had a great time. Since the only one in our Southern Gospel quartet that has hair is Cal we’ve tried to get him to wear a skull cap several times. Since he declined to come to our side we decided that during the last performance we would go to his.

You should click on the picture to see the larger version for the full effect. The look on Cal’s face, which I think Beth Graichen captured, was priceless. I’m told that Dawn, the director, was saying, “No! I don’t want this! No!” – also priceless. Keith Lindgren (right) and I look like we should be signing the Declaration of Independence. Kirk Moser could be the fourth Pip πŸ™‚

We had the Boddy family Christmas at Eileen’s brother Mike and wife Jean’s house. It takes a big place for 35 of us to run around.

All the cousins draw names and the adults do a grab bag and it still takes several hours.

We got up early Saturday and drove to Jackson, MI for our friend Randy Shafer’s Celebration (not funeral). It was so worth it. Per Randy’s instructions everyone was required to wear jeans πŸ™‚ His kids Jen, Ian and Emma sang their dad’s favorite hymn. They can really sing and the only dry eyes in the place were theirs. It was incredible. Randy actually taped a message and his first words were, “I underestimated how weird this was going to be”, which got a big laugh. It was impressive to see how huge an impact Randy had. He will be missed, but his impact will continue through those he touched. We love you, Shafers!

We had the Bowen family Christmas in Peoria at the Comfort Suites. My brother Steve, who has his own photography business called Bowen Arrow Photography, took all kinds of photos. The real magic was getting all 27 of us in white!

It has been great to enjoy the holiday’s without being nauseous. It would have been even nicer to go without the headaches, but I have had several days that were pretty good. I may have come down with a bug after being with sick family members over the past week, but it was well worth it. Pray it goes away before my treatment Friday.

For the first time in a while I had to go in for labs. Guess what? I still don’t like needles πŸ™‚ It was nice to have Judy, the nurse practitioner, tell me that my blood actually showed the effects of my two weeks off. Almost all of my counts looked really good. I’m hoping that my body won’t be shocked by the chemo on Friday because of the down time.

I have ten treatments to go over the next 20 weeks. Please pray that the side-effects are minimal and that my body and blood allows me to stay on schedule, which could mean that I’ll be done the second week of May. I can’t wait!

God has been so good to me and my family in 2008. I hope that seeing His faithfulness to me this past year has encouraged you to believe Him for BIG things. Nothing is impossible for Him – NOTHING.

I have so much more that I would have liked to write, but it’s time to go over to Monahan’s for New Year’s and beat Wendy at various and sundry games, which is a bit more pressing πŸ™‚

I hope you all have a great New Year’s and an incredible (had to get that word in one more time) 2009!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-12-31”

  1. Fred Weichselbaum Says:

    Hi Don and Happy 2009 to you and your beautiful family. Sorry that I have not been in touch for so long. It doesn’t mean that I haven’t thought about you on several occasions. I can’t believe that it has been just over a year now that you have been diagnosed and have been sharing your experiences with the world. I wish you and yours all the best for the new year and for many, many years to come.

    Best,

    Fred

Leave a Reply

