Don Bowen Update: 2009-01-06

In this update: New Year’s Eve and Wendy’s little secret, starting my last 10 treatments, surgery anniversary, Joey’s haircut, and more…

New Year’s Eve at Monahan’s was fun as usual, even though Mike had to turn in early so he and his sons could leave for their Grand Canyon hike the next morning. We played a new game – at least for me – called Apples to Apples(the Jr version). Each person has five red cards and turns are taken drawing a green card with a word on it (like “Smelly”). Everyone else selects one of their cards which most closely matches the green card (like “Dirty Socks”). The green card holder selects which one matches best and its owner gets to keep the green card. I finally thought I had the perfect card selected, but Lisa decided to pick the “funny” card instead of the right card, I mean the best match, which was mine. Fortunately for her I never get bitter.

I almost laughed out loud when I saw the little book Wendy has been keeping in her bathroom. I don’t know how I have missed it all this time, but you have to admit a title like “Life Changing Moments with God” in the toilet is pretty darn funny. I almost peeked inside and then I thought, “What if it’s a diary?!” 🙂

Click the picture if you don’t believe me. I may or may not have placed the book a bit more strategically for this picture.

Friday I started my last 10 (I hope) treatments. Several weeks ago the ladies in admissions had said, “We want to be in the blog.” so I took their picture, but lost it. When I took it again one of them said, “Oh, good. My hair is much better and if I’m going to be famous I want to look good.” 🙂 So, here you go ladies. You’re now “famous”. Can I transport myself to 1700 now?

As I’ve said before, it’s the last hour of my treatment which is the worst. The CPT-11 is just harsh and my skin feel like it’s bubbling. I most dislike the first treatment of the cycle because of the Temodar chemo pills I have to take for five days. I always feel like I’m on the clock. Get done eating by 7:30. Anti-nausea by 8:30, so I can take the Temodar by 9:30 and then take a whole pharmacy of pills at 10:30 for bed. Ok, so maybe it’s not quite a whole pharmacy. One night playing games with Wendy and I’m exaggerating 🙂

Last night our friend Joey came by for a visit and a haircut. I should have taken video because hearing him, Megan and Eileen talk was pretty funny. What was funnier was when I was looking at the photos on our camera, came to the one below, and said, “What’s this bald spot?” He smiled, but not before there had been just enough of a delay that I could tell I’d gotten him. 🙂 See for yourself.

We are doing a special 21-day journey with our church that started yesterday and I’m spending even more time praying for family and others. I was struggling a bit last night because I was so bound up it was painful. Funny to think I’m a co-founder of a company called UnBoundID, but we don’t have anything to do with laxatives. Just want to make that clear. Anyway, to help me focus I just started thanking God for all of the incredible blessings in my life. He used it to help me get my eyes off my problem and reset it on Him and on others. A while later I realized that the sharp pains had lessened greatly – and I then was thankful for that. Reminds me of the lyrics to the song “Give Thanks”:

GIVE THANKS
WITH A GRATEFUL HEART
GIVE THANKS
TO THE HOLY ONE
GIVE THANKS
FOR HE HAS GIVEN
JESUS CHRIST, HIS SON

AND NOW LET THE WEAK SAY
I AM STRONG
LET THE POOR SAY
I AM RICH
BECAUSE OF WHAT
THE LORD HAS DONE
FOR US

GIVE THANKS…

It’s hard to believe that on Wednesday it will have been one year since I had my surgery. I have learned so much in this past year and I have been loved so deeply that would be compelled to believe in God if I hadn’t already. I wish that reaching the anniversary mark was somehow magical and meant I was now done, but it doesn’t.

As I probably won’t write again before Wednesday I thought about what I wanted to say and I could only think of one word. It blinks like a huge neon sign in my head as I write and my tears can’t be held back. THANKS!

I hope you will continue to follow my updates, laugh with me and pray for both me and my girls. It has been a while since I shared my prayer requests, but here is what I pray (among other things)

– Complete healing – cancer-free – see New Year’s 2048

– Restored vision – so I can drive safely

– Strength to endure 9 more treatments and that there are no more

– Be a better husband, dad and friend

– Insurance after June – my COBRA runs out

Whether you pray for me daily or just every once in a while I want you to know how much I appreciate it and how important it is to me. I believe God is healing me or will heal me and that is primarily because so many are asking Him to on my behalf. Don’t stop!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-01-06”

  1. Penny Says:

    Salutations, Don. Since I am not very computer savvy, Abby set your site as one of my favorites, so I can check up on you now.

    I see that you did move the book in Wendy’s bathroom. I gave it to her last Christmas (2007) and was a little shocked the first time I saw it in her bathroom – which was almost immediately. It seems too classy to me and more the type of book that should be on a bed stand rather than in a bathroom. It is amazing you didn’t see it before.

    I printed your prayer requests listed above and will be praying for you daily – and also any time God brings you to my mind.

    Hope I did this correctly and you are able to read it.

Leave a Reply

