Don Bowen Update: 2009-01-15

In this update: radio personality in the house, trip to Austin, cribbage finally, hair!, Centurion prayer

Miss me? 🙂 This is the longest time between updates since I started posting them. It isn’t that I didn’t have time, I just didn’t have the energy
when I did have time.

Last week I asked Debi Parks, a local radio personality and celebrity on WCIC-FM, to be the voice of UnboundID, a company based in Austin that I founded with friends in December 2007. Her husband Mike is on the soaking prayer team at church and has prayed with and for me a number of times.

She agreed to help, but we had all kinds of technical difficulties. Fortunately she was willing to try again today and this time it worked well. I had had my daughter Amy record the same script as backup, but both of us agreed it sounded like a kid. Thanks, Debi!

For the most part I’ve been feeling well. I’m still getting over a cold I picked up from someone at Christmas time (probably Wendy), but it hasn’t been serious.

On Sunday I traveled to Austin for a belated company Christmas party/dinner and a board of directors meeting. We actually boarded the plane for a 7:20am departure, but had to disembark when the left engine failed to start. I’m always mystified to hear people complaining when stuff like that happens. Call me weird, but I prefer an engine to fail while I’m on the ground as opposed to when we’re at 36,000 feet!

Anyway, they had to cancel the flight and the next one wasn’t until 3pm. So I called Eileen and told her I could join her and the girls for church. While waiting for her to pick me up I met Mike and Tasha, who are from Springfield, IL and were going with a large group to ski in Colorado. I asked what they were doing until 3pm and they said they were going to Northwoods Mall. I told them I wasn’t going to Northwoods Mall, but I was going to Northwoods Church and would be happy to have them join me – and they did.

They had never been to a church like ours and really enjoyed it. Where did we take them for lunch? Avantis, of course! 🙂 Mike really got a kick out of seeing our girls “interact”. We usually call it fighting or bickering 🙂 Mike and Tasha, I hope you guys had a great time skiing. Come visit us anytime!

The UnboundID Christmas dinner/party was a lot of fun. We had all of our employees and significant others, as well as our legal, accounting and HR folks with their significant others. I hadn’t been to McCormick and Schmick’s before, but I definitely want to go again. For some reason I forgot to get in any of the pictures I took.


I was staying at my friend Kevin’s and when we got back to his house I talked him into a few games of cribbage. I took my ambien right before, so by the time we started the second game he was teasing me about being a bit loopy. I’m sure that’s why I lost, but I plan to win the rubber game of the match when I return next week. I can’t be letting a Canadian beat me. Next thing you know I’ll be losing to Wendy. Now that’s funny 🙂

The two week break I took from treatment at Christmas time has really made a difference. I actually have hair growing back.

OK, so maybe it’s better called stubble, but Eileen is happy her husband looks a bit less like a cancer patient. I just wish I had some of that hair in my nose again. Hey, don’t laugh. Nose hair is NOT over-rated. I sneeze all the time now and my nose runs like a faucet and requires that I always carry Kleenex. Not fun.

I’m reading Matthew right now and just love to hear the stories of Jesus healing people. I especially love the story of the Roman Centurion, whose faith impressed Jesus.

When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed and in terrible suffering.”

Jesus said to him, “I will go and heal him.”

The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

When Jesus heard this, he was astonished and said to those following him, “I tell you the truth, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven. But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! It will be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that very hour.

(Matthew 8:5-13)

“But just say the word, Lord” is a constant prayer of mine. Thank you for praying it with me.

I go in for my 16th treatment tomorrow. Neither Eileen or I are excited about going out in below freezing temperatures. I’m a bit concerned about where Jerrie is going to stick my IV. I always use my right arm, but it still hasn’t healed from two weeks ago and is tender.

That is one big black and blue mark, isn’t it?!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-01-15”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    Looks like a great party!
    In other news, I rarely get to read posts about cancer (except here) in my regular blogosphere. So I had to share this one!
    http://www.homebirth.net.au/2009/01/breast-is-most-definitely-best.html
    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

