Don Bowen Update 2009-02-17

I had plans to make up for the fact that I haven’t sent out an update for almost two weeks, but I didn’t plan for the twist in the journey that occurred today.

I’m singing at church this weekend and I’m very excited about it. While Eileen was taking me to practice I noticed that the world felt like it was closing in on me and had become smaller. She said it was dark and foggy so I ghought maybe that could be it. However, when I got to practice at church it quickly became apparent that the blind spot on my left had grown significantly. I don’t know if this is temporary or not. I’m hoping it is and that maybe being on the computer and working a bit too much is the cause. I don’t know. What I do know is that this is scary, if only because they told me that if the tumor returns it would probably have similar symptoms as in the beginning when I initially lost vision on my left side.

Last week I did not have treatment for the first time since June because my white blood cell count was too low. One of the options was to just skip the treatment and with the blessings of both Duke and Dr Geoffroy I decided to do that. My body needed the rest. Someone told me recently that being on chemo is a bit like getting beat up from the inside. THey’re right. I think it takes longer and longer to recover over time. I have black and blue markds on my right forearm from the IV three weeks ago and five weeks ago, but I’m hoping they disappear by my next treatment on 2/27.

I wanted to get this quick update out because I need your prayers for both my vision and my mental state. It’s one thing not to feel well or deal with pain, but loss of vision is hard for me.

Please pray Philippians 4:6-7 for me. I need the peace of God to blanket me  so that I calm down and keep the proper perspective. This is a surprise to me, but God is not wondering how this happened. Pray that the swelling in my head would go down and that as a result my vision would return to at least what it was before.

6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

(Philippians 4:6-7)

I’m hoping to write again tomorrow and share what I had planned to all week, including my pictures. You can visit http://www.flickr.com/photos/peoriaharem if you want and guess what I might write about those you haven’t seen.

Thank you for your love, support and especially your prayers.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

5 Responses to “Don Bowen Update 2009-02-17”

  1. Jonathan Gershater Says:

    Don
    Thinking of you and praying.
    A good man, a brave soul.
    Keep up the work, family and hobbies…

  2. Shesh Says:

    Hey Don,

    I am sure this is just a temporary thingy. Don’t worry too much.
    As I told u, bad things don’t happen to good people.
    Praying for u, as always.

    -Shesh

  3. Candace Says:

    hi Don,

    You don’t know me, but I want you to know that I’m praying for you BIG time!! You are an inspiration.

  4. Michael Haines Says:

    Hi Don,

    Not a day goes by that I do not think of you. You are always in my thoughts and I will be praying for you. Stay strong and positive as I know you do Don.

    -Michael

  5. Maureen Zears Says:

    Don,
    I just want you to know that I am thinking and praying for you and you are an inspiration for anybody that is going thru any kind of health or life issue. Hang in there!!! And I’m prayin for a miracle for you!!! Maureen

Leave a Reply

