Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-20

In this update: treatment update, vision update, Hearts on Heart Day,

At least half the things I wanted to mention I now can’t remember. I’ll just have to assume they weren’t important enough. I didn’t have my treatment as scheduled last Friday for the first time since June 2008. My white blood cell count was too low. I asked if I could redo the labs on Thursday, but when I was told by Duke and Dr. G. that one option was to just skip the treatment altogether I decided to do it. I’m sure hoping and praying that my last few days are not an indication of that being a bad decision. My body did need the rest.

I’ve really enjoyed using Facebook, but I’m troubled by this picture that keeps showing up on my page. Is Facebook trying to say that I’m fat? Are they spying on me? How did they know? 🙂

This past Sunday my pastor Cal turned 50 and the church surprised him by having his eight brothers, sisters and parents show up to surprise him. The real surprise was on Saturday night, but they “re-enacted” it during both services on Sunday. It was really something. I wanted to meet his family at another surprise party held at his house, but most had gone back to the hotel. Being the shy person I am I had Eileen take me there to meet them. I knew Cal came from a great family, but when I found them playing cards it really confirmed it.

(front: Dave, me, Phil; back: Donnie, Sue, Dan)

Next time you guys are in town, cards at Cal’s! Here is the youngest 100 years you will ever see 🙂

A few weeks back I lost my favorite Packer hat. I looked everywhere and couldn’t find it. Last week I got a call from Kay Shaffer, one of the pastor’s wives and she said, “I think I found it.” I was thrilled because I had looked and could not find a replacement.

Isn’t it beautiful?! I mentioned to a friend that I had looked in the lost and found so I was really amazed that Kay had found it there and so happy I had mentioned to her that I lost it. My (now former) friend said, “They take all the lost and found down to the mission every so often. The mission probably sent it back!” Funny guy. He’s a Bear fan so I try to cut him some slack, poor guy.

On Valentines Day Mike and Wendy came over and we played Hearts after Mike and I played cribbage. I thought it was appropriate that on Heart Day we played Hearts. Mike won, but Wendy tried to say she got second. I told her that only first place mattered to which she replied that she was with Mike, so she won too. So I said, “Well, then you lost at cribbage, too 🙂

Tuesday afternoon through Wednesday night I had an incredible headache. I could barely stand it and was actually in tears, but my loving wife said, “Trust me, you don’t want to cry. It will only make it worse.” She’s right.  The fact that my vision had gotten a lot worse made it all the more difficult. I was relieved it had subsided by Thursday morning, but it came back Thursday night. I got relief this morning, but my vision got worse again. I can barely see now so things are getting pretty interesting. Please pray that my vision returns. I wasn’t supposed to have another MRI for four more weeks and two treatments, but because all of this could indicate tumor activity. I’m hopefully going to have one on Monday. I hope I can bear the pain, but I can’t even stand laying on my pillow for 15 minutes.

I get to sing at church this weekend. We’re doing a Mandisa song called “Only the World” and the words are so applicable to my last few days. It’s no accident. Practicing is quite hard when you can’t read. I have a new appreciation for 1 Corinthians 5:7

“For we live by faith, not by sight.”

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-20”

  1. Stephanie Elder Says:

    Don, we’re praying for God to give you the biggest miracle He can muster! Got your blog now on my favorites, so we’ll be able to keep better track of ya! We love you and are praying for you and your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

