Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-23

In this update: dinner with Martins, vision worsens, secret agents, MRI tomorrow, Andy visits, 25 random things

I’m appending my “25 random things” from facebook for your enjoyment. Clearly I don’t know how to make anything short. 🙂

I had a great weekend singing at church for all three services and my head only hurt during the Saturday night service. Unfortunately my vision got worse for the third time on Sunday.The power at church went out several times while we were getting ready and when the technician was asked what was going on he said, “It’s Wendy”. She is such a trouble maker. We went to her house on Saturday night to celebrate her brother Brad’s birthday and I got this great picture of her losing at cribbage to Brad.

Can’t you just hear what she’s saying, “Why am I always losing?” 🙂

Sunday we went to Bloomington and had dinner with our good friends from college,Fred and Laurie Martin.

Sorry, Kent, we ate at Biaggi’s (we can still do Outback next time!). If you click on the picture (which you can always do to see the bigger version, you will see the black case on the table with Fred’s handgun. Yes, I was jealous. Yes, I do know how to use red-eye reduction, but I always forget to set it. Anyway, we went back to their house and Fred showed me his whole collection and I think I look pretty good with a gun, don’t you honey?

I would be an incredible secret agent. Can you sing “secret Agent Don, secret Agent Don” 🙂 We played Sequence at Martin’s and boy was it a major challenge for me. My vision actually got a bit better this afternoon, but last night Any image I saw would be superimposed for 10-15 seconds and everything was double vision. Impossible to focus. My cards were magically changing as a result. Reading the board was a huge challenge, but I almost felt like Wendy was there as Fred and I won twice quite easily. I think it may have been the gun. Just to give you an idea of what I can read, this is a “B”.

My friend Todd’s theory is that the images will continue to shift and eventually come back to one. I forgot to have him tell me his theory on why it would stop there?

All joking aside, this is quite scary for me and I could REALLY use your prayers for my MRI tomorrow, which is at 4:45. I have my labs and Dr. visit on Wed morning to see if I can get treatment on Friday, so I should know by 10:30 what the MRI shows.

I’ve been spending time in Psalms again lately and in Psalm 121 in particular because our friends Don and Cindy Leach shared it with me and have been praying it for me:

1 I lift up my eyes to the hills—where does my help come from?

2 My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.

3 He will not let your foot slip— he who watches over you will not slumber;

4 indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The LORD watches over you— the LORD is your shade at your right hand;

6 the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night.

7 The LORD will keep you from all harm—he will watch over your life;

8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

(Psalm 121:1-8)

I have been praying Psalm 139:16b for myself as well:

All the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

My good friend and co-worker, Andy Land (real name is Jack Land – now THAT is a cool secret agent name), is here staying at our house working with me on UnboundID stuff. He drove up in this car and as he said, “Avis is clearly no longer ‘Trying harder'” 🙂 Such a perfect line from a marketing guy.

The picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s hideous. No wonder the car company’s need to be bailed out. Someone actually said to themselves, “Oh, yeah, this is going to be a big seller”. Incredible.

I REALLY need a miracle, God specializes in them, PRAY BIG!

My 25 Random Things from Facebook

1. I’m not a big rule follower in general. It was painful to paste the paragraphs above, but I did change it just to be different. If everybody is doing it, I probably won’t and often don’t. I don’t think my parents or teachers appreciated this quality in me. Heck I’m not sure God does either.

2. I could regale you for hours about criminal behavior from my early days as a child and unfortunately all of it is true. I love fire and the fact that I didn’t kill myself or others is still amazing. The 19 year-old whose car I burned up wanted to kill me. However, I did NOT set fire to the top of the Eiffel tower July 22, 2003, despite the fact that only minutes before I was up there with Megan and Eileen. I was in a club where we taught friends how to steal, but I was not the president. Unless there are pictures to the contrary I don’t know who broke into where the Class of ’78’s float was being built last year.

3. When I went to college I only wanted to get a degree and pursue girls and a good time. I never expected to meet Jesus and when I did I thought it was just going to be a summer fling. Thank God he had a different plan. I took the path less traveled and it has made all the difference.

4. I loved Eileen almost from the moment I saw her playing volleyball. Shortly afterwards while eating lunch with my friend Chris Volker in the dorm I saw her again and said, “Hello my wife”. How prescient of me. She is the love of my life. If you want to know what it means when you say, “In sickness and in health”, she is a great example.

5. I finished my entire second grade math book during the first couple weeks. I decided right then that I would get a degree in math and did. Ironically I’m no help to my kids when they need it.

6. I can eat barbecue potato chips and red licorice until I am sick – and have.

7. I have always lived in the extremes for which I am, no surprise here, both proud and embarrassed.

8. I have been creating or marketing software for over 30 years, but the best software I’ve had a part in creating are my four beautiful and talented daughters. I am extremely proud of them, but can’t claim much credit. God is very faithful.

9. I love analogies and if you know me well at all you can probably quote a few of them. I never claimed they were good.

10. My parents are the most generous people I know. Any good quality I have is easily traceable to them, but neither they nor I know where I got my other qualities.

11. There is a theme of four women in my life. I have four sisters. My wife is one of four sisters. I have four daughters. I have had four women bosses – one for 25 years this September 🙂

12. I often get embarrassed for people on TV (or the radio) and either have to plug my ears, change the channel or leave the room.

13. One of my fondest childhood memories is my dad getting me up to watch his favorite movies with him, like “Some Like It Hot”, “The Train”, “Father Goose” and “The Great Imposter”.

14. I used to hate English and writing. Two of my college papers were “Why I Hate English” and “F – Who Failed?” Today I realize there isn’t any skill more critical to success. I’ve always wanted to write a book and marvel at authors like Jane Austen and Ken Follett.

15. I have a huge fear of heights and can’t let anyone stand close to me when I’m at a railing up high.

16. I am anal about updating my address book and staying in touch with the people who are in it. You don’t need to be the smartest when you know the people who are. I envy Kevin Bacon’s connections.

17. People energize me. I would love a second job as the person who goes around at a nice, big restaurant talking with the patrons and making sure everything is good.

18. I would still like to play for the Green Bay Packers.

19. I don’t do well with crying babies. If our last, who was colicky, had been our first, she would have been our only. Strangely, I may have cried more this past year than all my kids put together.

20. I was an All-State tenor my junior and senior year in high school. One of my biggest regrets is not pursuing singing earlier. It’s one of the few gifts I know God gave me. If I could sing for a living I would promise never to touch a computer again.

21. If I had to pick one word to describe me I would say “passion”. Eileen might pick “stubborn”, but I’m not done trying to convince her otherwise.

22. I am a tight wad and have extended the science to depths few can imagine and none understand. My slogan is “I don’t drive, wear or eat my money.” At work it used to be “Your budget, your resources, your people, our revenue.”

23. I am pretty good at turning “no” into “yes”.

24. I have had more than my 15 minutes of fame, but my favorite minutes were being interviewed by George Stephanopoulos on the set of Good Morning America with my daughters Megan and Amy.

25. I absolutely love Dairy Queen and would love to stick my head under the spout where the ice cream comes out.

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-23”

  1. Rowman Says:

    >>I think I look pretty good with a gun, don’t you honey?

    You’d look a lot better w/ your finger off the trigger, buddy. 🙂

    Prayers heading your way for all you need.

    ~ Bart

Leave a Reply

