Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-25

In this short update: My new hero, lab results, MRI results, vision update

Due to my massive headaches and vision loss last week from Tuesday evening to Sunday I had yet another early MRI on Tuesday afternoon. I was dreading it. The last two were almost 40 minutes of excruciating pain because I had to lay directly on my incision. It felt like laying on the tip of a nail.

When I got to OSF and met the technician, Connie, who was going to do the MRI, I told her how much I was dreading it and why. That’s when she became my latest hero. She said, “you can just turn your head and I’ll adjust the image.” I couldn’t believe it. I hesitated to get my hopes up, but I did πŸ™‚

We sat down so she could ask me whether I had metal anywhere in my body and then casually said, “Well, I’ll be right back and we’ll get the IV started for the contrast out here.” I said, “excuse me?” I was sure I had misheard her, but no, they changed how they give you the contrast. I told her I didn’t do well with IV’s and she said, “You’re not going to be insistent, are you?” Am I that easy to read? πŸ™‚ Fortunately she didn’t push too hard. I’m not even on the table yet, but again she is my hero.

As soon as I laid down on the MRI table and turned my head to the side I knew it was going to be much better. About 40 minutes later my neck was a bit stiff, but the difference was unbelievable. When Connie’s parter Cindy came in to inject the contrast she reminded me not to move my head (otherwise you have to start over). She said, “don’t look over here. I’m too beautiful to look at directly.” πŸ™‚ Cindy and Connie, you guys were great. Thanks!

Today I had my labs and my blood counts looked fantastic. That means I’m cleared for treatment this Friday. For the first time in days the two weeks off seemed to have a pay off. But I still wondered whether the news on the MRI would be bad. I refused to prepare to hear bad news, but I confess I worried how I could possibly deal with hearing the cancer had returned and what that would mean. Unfortunately Dr. Geoffroy didn’t have the results yet. Fortunately I am learning how to be patient (in this one area).

We got a call from Dr. G’s office around 3pm saying that the MRI was “stable”. No change. When Eileen told me I said, “You’re kidding” πŸ™‚ I had been praying almost constantly and knew hundreds of others were as well, but it was still hard to believe. I can’t tell you how much of a relief it was. It’s not the first time I felt like that, but I’d be OK if it was the last πŸ™‚

I can’t thank you enough for all your prayers and support. Guess what? My vision has improved and I think I’ve recovered 80% of what I lost last week, which is a miracle and huge answer to prayer. Maybe these headaches are really God just restoring the cells and nerve connections to restore my vision!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-02-25”

  1. Joan Stafford Rambatt Says:

    Hi Don,
    All I can say is….”Praise the Lord”!!! I had just talked with your Aunt Karen and your mother because of their birthdays, and we were all worried about your loss of vision. Prayers do work!!! Tell Eileen “hi” for me, but I was wondering if her and I had ever met?
    Take care and God Bless…..Your cousin, Joan Rambatt

Leave a Reply

