Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-01

In this update: treatment video, Kelly’s tiger dress, Joey’s surprise 23rd, building on the rock

My treatment on Friday went pretty well. I asked Eileen to make a video of Jerrie, my nurse, giving me the IV, just for fun. She is such a good sport and takes such excellent care of me. I’m pretty sure all of my teachers growing up felt like she does 🙂

I got a visit from Mike and Wendy, but I was tired and out of it, so if Wendy claims she played and won any games it just isn’t true. Not that I couldn’t beat her even in that weakened state. I could, I just don’t remember if I did.

Because Eileen has so much free time on her hands she agreed to make a tiger dress for Kelly’s vice-versa dance with the theme “Jungle Fever”. My amazing wife whipped it up in a couple days, which really impressed me. Of course I couldn’t make a toga out of a sheet, so that isn’t saying much.

Doesn’t she look beautiful? I’m told she did some impressive dancing, but I have yet to see the video and she’s a big talker. She gets that from her mom.

Saturday night we helped Liz surprise Joey for his 23rd birthday. He lives in a farmhouse out in the middle of nowhere. Scary dark. When they walked in he didn’t notice chairs we had brought, my coat or even my Packer hat. Instead he noticed a shovel that had been moved.

I’m not sure which line was funnier. Brooke saying, “What do we say when they walk in?” or Joey saying, “Isn’t that like a bayonet they put babies in?” Liz, be careful leaving your children alone with this guy 🙂

Cal started speaking on a new series this week called “Storm Shelter – Seven things you better nail down before all hell breaks loose.” It was a great message and I could relate to it pretty easily. I’m thinking stage 4 brain cancer qualifies as part of “all hell”, but that’s just me 🙂 I was talking to my friend Don tonight about how real growth appears to only happen during the tough times and he agreed. Don’t get me wrong, I love the good times and I still have them, really, but what grows me as a person and what grows my faith is the hard stuff. Plus, as Cal shared, you can have disappointment with God or without. I’ll take mine with, thank you very much 🙂

I remember all the water problems I had in my first house. I was a slow learner so it took me a while to finally realize that it was because my gutters kept getting filled with leaves. When the heavy storms came they overflowed and the water stayed next to the house, often flooding the basement. I really don’t miss those days. Did I mention I was slow? A wise man would have cleaned out the leaves on a dry day. Not me. I waited for the rain – and lightning – to go up on the roof and do it. And Benjamin Franklin was one of my favorites to read about as a kid. Clearly learned nothing. Fortunately, God was incredibly gracious and directed me to build on the rock.

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

(Matthew 7:24-28)

I really appreciate your prayers for me and my family. Don’t stop. I’m especially having a tough time with the temodar this time. You might say I need some intestinal fortitude. But would you please do me a huge favor and pray for my good friend Tim and his wife Denise. They need to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. “Ask and it will be given to you..” (Matthew 7:7) Ask with me!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-01”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    Finally a post about sewing and you can’t even show a full-length picture of the beautiful dress and daughter?!! 😉

Leave a Reply

