Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-05

In this update: Housemans & Bowens play trivia, Miller’s & Pizza Inn, healthcare stories, oatmeal, Tim and Denise Freitag, cool videos

On Tuesday Kelly asked me to join her for dinner at AA’s Pizza and play trivia. The entire Houseman family, Todd, Diane, Sarah and Levi, were there too so we joined forces and became Team #14. It’s a lot of fun. The manager shouts out the 5 sets of 5 questions without the aid of a microphone over about 90 minutes. It has a great small town feel to it and it’s not easy. The winning team only scored 17, but unfortunately we could only muster 14. Here are a couple we wish we wouldn’t have missed:

– What does a narcomaniac crave?

– In Peter Pan, what was the name of Hook’s ship?

I especially enjoyed that they asked the following:

– What is the perfect score in cribbage?

– What do you mix with water to make tonic water? (those years at the Coke bottling plant paid off!)

The pizza and wings are incredibly good, though it was my last temodar night so my eating was limited. Hey, Housemans, see you next Tuesday. This time we win!

We have tried to get together with our friends Nate and Sherry Miller for months now and finally did last night. We’ve lived in Peoria for almost 25 years, but somehow we had never gone to Pizza Inn. It’s pretty hard to beat their salad and pizza bar for only $6.99. They have what I would call a chocolate chip cookie dough pizza that is incredible. I’m glad Nate didn’t point it out until after we had enjoyed the salad and pizza. We had such a great time talking that we  closed the place down. I’m sure they were wondering if we’d ever leave. Thanks, Miller’s, we appreciate your friendship so much! I can’t believe I forgot the camera!

Head pain tonight is really strong. It’s like a knuckle being ground into your right temple. Doesn’t that sound fun? 🙂 Reminds me of the kind of hazing my friend’s big brother used to do to us. The worst thing that happened today was that while eating a plum I took a huge bite out of my right cheek. Have you ever done that? Man, I hate that. I’m hoping it doesn’t turn into a canker sore, but will be surprised. Maybe yours are different, but mine are always right where my teeth rub against them or my food goes when I chew – maximizing the pain. This is a small thing and I know I have it good, but my wife would think I left her if I didn’t whine about something 🙂

Speaking of whining, I got to deal with a couple fun healthcare issues today. One I deal with all the time. My doctor has prescribed for me two ambien (sleeping pills) daily. Yes, I haven’t slept since I had surgery without medication – not one night. The pharmacy always calls me to say the insurance company will only give me 30 tablets for 30 days, not 60. I have to call my physician and get his nurse to call the pharmacy to tell the insurance company it’s ok. Annoying, but livable. The second issue is not fun or funny. Initially my neurosurgeon recommended my medical oncologist. Because he is the only one in a 30 mile radius he was eventually granted “in-network” status. Now, 14 months later, they are telling me that because the neurosurgeon is out-of-network his recommendation is out-of-network. So, in the middle of a battle for my life they want to take the guy who is essentially the “coach” of my team. It’s amazing. I don’t know who they think they’re dealing with, but their messing with the wrong person. You knew I was talking about God, right? You didn’t think I meant me, did you? 🙂

After I said I finally started eating oatmeal after 50 years, several of you recommended that I use milk instead of water, so I finally did. I gotta say, it was just ok. I actually like it with water better. I just think warm milk should include chocolate – it’s called cocoa 🙂

Tonight my friends, Tim and Denise Freitag, came to healing prayer (I liked when we called it soaking prayer, but people got the wrong idea I guess). Tim has a GBM just like me and his tumor is back for a fourth time. We prayed and we cried and we laughed. I have grown to love Tim and Denise dearly and would consider it a personal favor if you prayed for him. We both want exactly the same thing: complete healing, many more years loving and serving God and our families, and the privilege to see our children’s children.

Afterwards my blog came up somehow and Denise teasingly and under her breath said, “You haven’t update it since 3-1.” I was surprised and wondered if somehow my last update hadn’t been posted. I kept thinking about that as we parted and then suddenly realized it was only the 5th. I went back to Denise and said, “Denise, it’s only the 5th! It’s only been four days!” To which she said, “I know, but I want to see an update every day!” Fans. Ya gotta love’em 🙂

I’m sure you get sent lots of links to this and that, but I promise you won’t be disappointed by either of the following videos. The first is funny, the second inspirational:

I’ve been listening to 1st Corinthians the past few days and the “Love chapter”, chapter 13 hit me right between the eyes. As husbands we’re commanded “to love our wives as Christ loved the church.” The difficulty of my doing this became clearer as I was reminded about the true nature of real love.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.”

(1 Corinthians 13:1-8a)

I still have such a long way to go, but it was nice to be reminded of what the goal looks like. Patience, honey 🙂

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-05”

  1. Denise Freitag Says:

    Now, that’s better! Expecting an update by Monday! ha!

Leave a Reply

