Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-12

In this update: Making a video, Reist’s 40th, Men’s 7:40 breakfast, Salsa!, DQ dream come true

Last Friday morning I went to church to let Dave Marks video tape me talking about how important the bible has been to me, especially since I’ve been on this cancer journey. Dave told me, “My job is to make you look good” and let me just say, he is awesome at his job. I hope I can get the video to post some time. Even I got motivated 😉


Friday night we got to help many others surprise one of our pastors and a good friend, Tim Reist, celebrate his 40th. It was a big surprise and we had a lot of fun with the Hawaiian theme. Here is Tim being a good sport and wearing the “birthday gear” while Cal tells all of us how much he appreciates Tim and the impact Tim has had on him.

I have to say the funniest parts were when Tim’s brother said, “I met Tim when I was six” and when Cal finished and told Tim (referring to the coconut bra), “You get to be 50 and you start filling those things up.” I was rolling! 🙂

I sure hope Eileen and I get closer to Hawaii than this some day. Yes, we need better shirts too. Some being worn at the party were awesome. I’m glad I got pictures.

Saturday I went to the men’s 7:40 breakfast and Tim spoke on raising kids. It was challenging, and though I can’t change what I should have done in the past, I can try to do better going forward. Three things kids definitely need to know:

– Am I loved?

– Do I belong?

– Am I significant?

How am I doing girls? I am amazed at how many men did not get this from their own families and fathers. You’ve got to get a license to drive a car or own a gun, but anyone can get married and have kids 🙂 My parents aren’t perfect and never claimed to be, but they sure did an amazing job raising six of us. OK, maybe 5 and a half of us 🙂

On Monday we got a special delivery from Goga’s Salsa. Let me just say that this stuff is amazing. I especially love the pineapple salsa, but I also really like the peach mango. Nick and Olga Maloof make this fresh daily and distribute it to many buinesses. I guess eating salsa is good for you. Hey, you don’t have to try to convince me. I’ve been eating it everyday. I need all the help I can get. Here is Amy doing some taste testing on all four kinds. Come by if you want to taste it for yourself. Highly recommended!

Tuesday night we went out to dinner at Red Lobster with our friends, Mark and Karen Burnham. They treated us to dinner so I felt compelled to treat them to DQ 🙂 We told the waitress and she kept hearing us talk about it so much that she said she was going to grab some on her way home. I talked the manager into letting me fulfill a lifelong dream – put my head under the ice cream spigot and have it turned on. Here is the video:

I still can’t believe I got to do it. She said, “You need to put this on YouTube”, to which Mark said, “Oh, you don’t need to worry about that!” He knows me 🙂

I’ve been enjoying listening to Paul’s Epistles this week. Yesterday I listened to 1 and 2 Thessalonians and today I listened to Ephesians.

“For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

(Ephesians 1: 15-23)

Last night Joey and I attended Cal’s class on “Know What You Believe”. The whole session was on Jesus and it was very interesting. I don’t know if Cal came up with this, but I love his quote, “There are lots of religions out there, but I gotta go with the guy who rose from the dead!” One of the arguments against the resurrection is that the disciples stole and hid the body. I guess Charles Colson was asked after his prison term what he learned from the entire Watergate experience and he said something like, “I learned that the resurrection of Jesus Christ was absolutely true.” When asked why he said, “Because the most powerful men in the world couldn’t keep a lie for three weeks even to avoid jail time. There’s no way the disciples, who were fearful men before Jesus was crucified, would be willing to die for a lie.”

I am going in for treatment tomorrow (Fri) and feel more ready than I was two weeks ago. Please pray that when I’m done I feel good enough to go hear my daughter Lauren sing. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t want the memory of her dad throwing up during it 🙂

Hair update: My hair seems to be coming back all over the place. I feel like I’m going through puberty again, but without the acne 🙂

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

