Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-19

In this update: treatment update, lots of pics, Anita visits, Liz’s bday, Eileen’s bday, Steve Wilmert concert, bald is beautiful

Reminder: click on pictures to see larger versions

How does a week go by that quickly! Incredible! I had my treatment last Friday and it went pretty well. I tried to avoid throwing up, but I just couldn’t help it. My mouth has felt like I gargled with acid most days, but God has spared me any open sores, so I’m very thankful.

On Saturday my sister Anita and her family came for a visit. Not to see me. Anita wanted Eileen’s expert advice on what to paint all the rooms in her house. Hey, I’d want her advice too. We had big plans to play cards, but at least Chuck and I got to play cribbage. He remembered how to play far too quickly. I won the first two games and he skunked me in the third. 2-2, Chuck. Rubber game of the match when you return.

Anita wanted to go to Avanti’s and she didn’t have to twist anyone’s arm 🙂

Sunday night we celebrated Liz’s birthday and taught Liz R.,Landon, Liz and Joey how to play speed Scrabble. I forgot how much I liked that game. I helped Lauren and she kept winning 🙂

Monday night I took Eileen out for her birthday to an old favorite – Jonah’s. They have the best au gratin potatoes you have ever had in your life.

I couldn’t believe how high the Illinois river was. The ENTIRE back parking lot at Jonah’s was completely under water. After dinner we headed to one of our favorite date spots – Barnes & Noble. I tried reading a few things, but had to resort to picture books because it just really hurts my eyes. On the way out I somehow picked up a book and when I saw this I just HAD to take a picture of it.

I don’t know what was scarier,that this was someone’s question, or that they actually have an answer! Unbelievable!

Tuesday we got to attend the Steve Wilmert “You Are” concert. Steve sang many of the songs from his new album and I think they are incredible. I am singing at Northwoods because two people thought I could: Sharon Meiss and Steve Wilmert.

Steve had Jeff Schwarzentraub give a short message and I just had to get a picture to show three of the most beautiful heads in Peoria (at least that night) 🙂

This has been a pretty good week for me. I haven’t always felt great (stomach, mouth, head), but I’ve kept quite busy with work and evening activities and that really helps. I had labs today because this is supposedly the low point of the 28 day cycle. The numbers confirmed that in spades. No wonder I’ve been so tired. Fortunately I’m still able to walk every day. Usually that is my time to pray for my family and all my friends, though today Megan and I walked and talked. She does that and then goes running. I remember those days. 🙂

I got a great note from my friend Dave Pendergrass today. He reminded me that when someone passes away after battling cancer they haven’t “lost the battle”. He said, “I believe that when we trust in the Lord with all we have and show this to others as we fight this battle, we are winning the most important [battle] all along.” I couldn’t agree more. Dave spoke about his battle and his faith at church a while back and God knit my heart to his instantly. Prayerfully we battle shoulder to shoulder – and we are winning.

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the LORD will hand you over to me, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. Today I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”

(1 Samuel 17:45-47)

Please pray for our trip to Duke (3/20-3/23) and the results of the MRI from Tuesday. Head pain the past couple days has been a concern. Thanks!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-03-19”

  1. monkeys Says:

    First I wanted to say thank you for the link to my site. (The Home Depot Exotic Dancer) I always like to take a peek at the sites linked to me….for a few reasons. Although I didn’t have a chance to read as much as I would have liked to, I did see that you are battling cancer. I do plan to come back and read more, but for now I wanted to let you know my thoughts and prayers are with you. My mother is a cancer survivor, and my 25 year old son has just hit his 2nd year of remission, so it has been part of my life for the last 8 years or so.
    I wish you the best, and will check back in soon!! 🙂

  2. monkeys Says:

    o.k., that is not how my info. is supposed to show up, lol!!! I am not sure how I pulled that off….my website is http://www.whatsleftofmyhead.com
    Apparently, I shouldn’t be trying to do this half asleep!!!

Leave a Reply

