Don Bowen Update: 2009-04-04

In this update: apology, funny treatment story, Duke update, trepanation, Avanti’s t-shirt, Greg, bronchitis

I can’t believe it has been over two weeks. I wish I had a great excuse, but I don’t. My whole reason for blogging from the beginning is to bring you on my journey so that you would know what is happening and so you could pray. If you aren’t on facebook or don’t follow me on Twitter (and so few do) you may have wondered if I fell off the planet. I didn’t. The only feeble excuse I could think of is that I’ve been quite sick for some time, but that is actually more reason to write, not less. Anyway, I hope I can reengage your interest in following me because I need your prayers and support more than ever.

I promise to provide what I think are a few humorous items, but quite frankly until my friend Steve called me this morning I couldn’t remember the last time I laughed real hard. It had been weeks. Unfortunately he almost killed me as I coughed up several pieces of my lung upon hearing his story, which I may have to share once I hear the conclusion.

First, I forgot to tell you something funny that happened almost 4 weeks ago when I went in for treatment. I got up to the floor to the nurses station and looked for “my” nurse Jerrie and didn’t see her. I’m sure I had a concerned look on my face as I said, “Is she here?” I was not prepared for the response. One of the nurses jumped up and as if dealing with a freaked out patient said loudly as she approached, “Settle down. Jerrie’s here. Don’t worry! No one else will touch you. It’s going to be fine. Calm down!” I totally lost it and just started laughing out loud. They know me! 🙂 I was still laughing when I got to my room so I grabbed my computer and went back to the nurses station. I said, “Would you please re-enact that to I can put it on video?”, to which she said, “No way! I know you. You’ll put it on YouTube!” Darn. You had to see it first hand to get the full effect, but trust me – it was funny.

Our trip to Duke was good. Though “no one” took them, there was somehow no camera to be found when we left for the airport. Does that happen in any of your homes? I’ll start with the MRI results. They were “stable”, which is very good, but Dr. Reardon is a bit concerned about increased swelling in the back right over the past several scans. I actually feel this pressure though not all the time. When I do, it causes head, ear, eye and even nose pain – like being punched in the face. Do pray this swelling goes away completely.

Do you know what a trepanning device is? Neither did I until my new friend Richard Garriott sent me a note after seeing my blog with the question, “Can you drill a hole in your head and survive”. Trepanation is “surgery in which a hole is drilled or scraped into the human skull.” Yes, scraped! Ouch! It seems Richard has “a quack scientific instruments collection with bloodletting and trepanning devices.” Well, I just had to have a picture for the blog for your enjoyment and here it is (click to see larger image):

SO glad I didn’t live back then 🙂 A couple days later I saw that Russian billionaire Charles Simonyi was going up to the International Space Station so I asked Richard if he knew him. His reply, “Don, funny you should ask because I’m over here in Russia now to watch his flight. He will return in a couple weeks with the crew I launched with, and so I will stay here for that too. Yes, I know Charles Simonyi well.” He also told me that Simonyi was the creator of Microsoft Word and Excel. Well, that explains the billions :-). I’ve asked Richard for a picture of him and Charles so I’m hoping he’ll send one when he gets a chance. Enjoy the reunion with your crew, Richard!

My old high school friends will not be surprised to hear this, but I still suck at basketball. And yes, I’m including H-O-R-S-E. My friend Rob and his 10-year old Walker played while we stayed with them and they schooled me. Walker had his old man on the ropes for a while, but he may have to wait until 11 to take that title.

On the flight from Chicago to Raleigh I found out that Platinum AA members get complimentary trail mix normally $3. Well I made sure I got bags on both return legs. I may not be Exec Platinum anymore, but I’ll be serving AA snacks from now on at my house 🙂

When we got back Amy surprised me with my very own bright red Avanti’s t-shirt:

Right after I returned from Duke I met with my friend Greg who is looking for work. We had a great time catching up. At one point he said, “So, you got any jobs?”, to which I immediately fired back “You got any skills?” He laughed and then I laughed and added, “I don’t think so.” If he can’t find a ministry position he should start his own boy band. What do you think? 😉 Love you, Greg!

I had a 102 temperature when I got treatment last week. Jerrie was surprised they let me go through with it. I was hoping they wouldn’t. I haven’t been well since. At one point I counted 8 different battle fronts. It’s been a long hard week, but the bronchitis and constant nausea have been the toughest. Rest assured I am not discouraged or giving up. Just tired of being sick.

I know you have continued praying for me and I really appreciate it.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-04-04”

  1. Craig McDonald Says:

    Hey Don! How did you meet Richard G? I used to work for his old company, Origin Systems. 🙂

  2. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    After reading through this article, I just feel that I need more information on the topic. Can you share some resources please?

Leave a Reply

