Don Bowen Update: 2009-04-16

In this update: Snow in April!, bi-focals, Missed treatment, southern gospel, Eileen at Walmart, trip to Austin

I’ll blame it on being sick, but I hate being this sporadic in writing my updates.

I can’t believe it, but we had snow on April 6th. I’m sure it’s happened before, but I sure don’t remember it. The ground was actually covered, but had melted by the time I took this picture.

I tried bi-focals when I was much younger and didn’t like them. Eileen and the girls think my own version is pretty funny, but it works for me. You may have to click on the picture to see the larger version.

I was supposed to get treatment on 4/10, but my labs were really bad. So bad that Duke was quite concerned. My white blood count was very low and my nutrifils were dangerously low. I was supposed to stay away from sick people, avoid fresh produce, avoid crowds and a number of other things. Otherwise I might get nutropenia or something like that. Well, I limited the fresh produce πŸ™‚ I never was good at following directions. Ask my mom or my teachers.

Once again I experienced God answering the hundreds of prayers from all of you. I was pretty sure last Thursday night that I would not be able to sing in the quartet last weekend. Friday night I wasn’t doing much better and we had practiced only once. On Saturday Chris Artis sang my part in almost every practice. I probably should have just let him sing it – he is amazing. Anyway, God enabled me to sing in all three services and man was it fun. I’m so glad Cal made it back. Wouldn’t be the same without him. Here is a video of us singing, though the audio is hopefully not what we really sounded like.

Dozens of individuals and families came up and crossed the bridge as an expression of their commitment to Jesus. The video testimony of a guy named Don who was sentenced to 45 years in prison was amazing. He lived for 17 years inside prison just as he had before, but one day gave his life to God and has never been the same. He got out after 25 years and said his second chance at life is way different because of the Lord. You can’t explain away changes like this. Very cool.

Eileen went to Walmart the other day and watched a woman walking in a skirt that was pulled down and exposing much of her backside. She said she just kept staring at the woman thinking the skirt was coming all the way down any second. A couple minutes later a woman came up to Eileen and said, “Can I tell you something? I watched you while you were watching that woman and I just have to tell you, it was priceless.” πŸ™‚ I still laugh just thinking about it.

Monday I flew to Austin to have strategy meetings for our business. It’s always good to see my partners and co-workers. Isn’t it impressive that we were able to hire Hiro from the popular TV show Heroes? His ability to time travel comes in very handy πŸ™‚

(Thanks for being a good sport, Gene!) We went out to dinner and then bowling. I thought I could bowl at least 150, but came up short at 148 and 133, though I spanked my friend and our CEO Steve.

I was actually glad when we finished the second game because my head was hurting badly. Fortunately the drugs I took later kicked in and I was feeling much better by 11pm and easily beat Kevin in a couple games of cribbage. We played again on Tuesday and Wednesday night. Kevin managed to win one game. He took a picture of the board so he could “show” Wendy. I said, “Why? Wendy doesn’t know what winning looks like.” Hey, that’s funny! Wendy, I’m taking you down at the bowling alley. I may have to trip you a few times, but 170 doesn’t scare me!

On my way down to Austin I plugged in my Mac airline adapter for the first time. When I was taking stuff out of my bag at Kevin’s that night I was missing part of it. Kevin informed me that he had the same thing happen. Part of the adapter comes off and sticks in the DC port. I told him that I was going to get Apple to replace it, but he didn’t believe there was any way they’d do it. Last night Andy took me to the Apple store and got to see it for himself first hand. It’s really a stupid design. Especially since it doesn’t work in a car and there is no tip which does. Come on, Apple, that’s ridiculous!

Tuesday we went to lunch at this place and my friend Steve made us promise to use the bathroom while we were there . So I did. At first I didn’t notice anything, but while standing at the urinal I looked around and directly behind me I saw this:

I tried to remain calm and finish my “business”, but as soon as I got out I went to verify that you couldn’t see in. πŸ™‚ Isn’t that cool? I wonder if the women’s restroom was the same.

I forgot to put a big bottle of medication in my suitcase and left it in my backpack. The security guy found it, but amazingly he let me keep it. I didn’t even have to show him my scar πŸ™‚ Speaking of my scar, when I got to baggage claim in Peoria I reached for my bag at the same time as an older gentleman next to me. He must have thought it was his and banged his head right on my scar. It dropped me like a sack of potatoes and took me a while to stand. I wish I would have done a better job of assuring him and his family I was ok, but I was a bit disoriented. I’m now positive that I won’t play racquetball. Even the thought of getting hit by a racket hurts.

While I walked on Tuesday I listened to Andy Stanley’s message called “He’s Still Got the Whole World in His Hand” He talked about how the bible is perfect for times just like we are facing today. Life may seem quite uncertain and increasingly so, but our God is not uncertain and can provide peace that overcomes and often much more than that. I know this first hand, but I never tire of being reminded.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

