Don Bowen Update: 2009-05-01

In this update: vision status, walking obstacle, IHOP, new perspective and tagline

Hey, it hasn’t been a week yet, I know, but I needed to send this out so you would know how the latest, and can pray accordingly.

My vision has not gotten better, and in fact, has gotten worse. The latest development this afternoon is that left side images are constantly retained, causing me to see what I saw and what I’m seeing now on top of each other. Typing this is no small feat and will absolutely require more of Eileen’s editing 🙂

Yesterday we walked together outside. I’m not sure why I was on the left side, but I was and I ran right into this bush, which bounced me back out and into Eileen. She said, “Did you not see that?”, but I really didn’t.I kept walking on the left.

Today we were prayed for by a team from the International House of Prayer (IHOP) in Kansas City. These young people are impressive. Their love for the Lord, faith and passion are fun to be around.

Kyle annointed me with oil he has used at these sessions. Amanda told us that all week she had been hearing the name “Don” and “Donald” and felt very called to pray for me. Afterwards she said, “I kept getting images of a builder and building being done. Does that make any sense?” I said, “Well I’m not a builder (of physical things), but I am building God’s kingdom.” It got me excited. God is definitely not done with me yet. (Sidenote: I don’t think anyone wants to see me wielding a hammer or using any power tools, especially air guns 🙂 Jenna was moved to tears and wept before she prayed and it really touched my heart. As she prayed I saw light in my head. I’m not kidding.

I had a great walk after I returned home. I told you that the other day I spent the time thanking God through my life. Well, today I thanking him for things I’ve wanted in my life which he has provided. Stupid things, but I’m positive they’re from him. I wanted to have a nice house – never dreamed of what I have. I wanted a nice lush green yard. Hey, I said they were stupid. I was tired of mowing weeds and dust. With the rain we’ve had, lush is an understatement. (No, Nate it isn’t up to your standards :-)) I wanted to sing on a stage. The reality has exceeded my dream many times over at Northwoods. I always wanted to write and to journal. Well, I have a blog. I wanted to impact the lives of many others. Only God can exceed wants like that.

I wanted to play for the Green Bay Packers, but God knew they needed me as a fan. I wanted sons, but God knew I needed daughters, and boy was he right. I wanted an easier life, but God knew I needed to be completely dependent on Him. I am SO glad I got only some of what I wanted. If you look hard, I’ll bet you can see the same thing in your life.

Yesterday I wasn’t down, but God knew I needed some encouragement. First I got a note from a friend and former salesman at Sun. Mac told me he was golfing with his cousin who was talking about tough times so he told him the “Don Bowen” story and it encouraged him. Well that encouraged me!

Then my friend Susie called me to say that a customer had called in about a claim for brain surgery. Susie told him that subject was close to her heart because of a friend who had brain cancer and also had brain surgery. He said, “Do you know what kind it is?” She told him I had a GBM and he said, “That’s what I have.” She pointed him to my blog and said it encouraged him. It became very emotional for me. OK, not that it takes much, but now I was really encouraged. God delivering another want, right when I needed it.

IF SOMEONE POINTED YOU HERE. Especially if you have a GBM like me, please know that this blog is primarily intended to keep my family and friends up to date and aware of how to pray for me. But it is also for those who need to be encouraged or encouraged to see things in a different light. I don’t believe that is possible without Jesus, but my friends will tell you that I don’t beat anyone over the head with that. Just because I have experienced something, especially anything unpleasant, does NOT mean you will. Your journey can and I pray WILL be better, and I hope you experience even more of the joy and laughter I have in the past 16 months. My vision  changed significantly three times as I wrote this update, but I am going to follow James 1:2-3:

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.”

Today was a big day for me. Things have gotten worse – or so it seems. However, when you ask me how I’m doing I’m going to say, “I’m doing well and it’s going to get much better.” I’m going to make a concerted effort to have my words support what I really believe God is going to do. As a result I’m changing the tagline I have been using from the beginning.

I am expecting a miracle, God is going to deliver it, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

