Don Bowen Update: 2009-05-22

In this update: No treatment, forearm pain, Duke here we come, very small world, vision humor, Eileen’s green thumb

I had labs on Wednesday to get approval for my last treatment, which was supposed to be today. Unfortunately the white blood cells and platelets were really low. So my doctor said I could do it again Thursday, but wasn’t hopeful. I know all of you were praying it would happen, but sometimes God just knows better. I am still really hurting from treatment two weeks ago. So this is best. We’ll try again next Thursday so pray for that.

My arms are really hurting just washing them in the shower is quite painful. No wonder I hate needles. I could describe them to you, but “a picture paints a thousand words” right?

The great news was Duke still wanted us to come out for my PET scan and MRI. They will somehow fuse them together and see if there is any cancer we need to worry about and what will this next phase look like. I’m scared to take a break from chemo, but man could I use it. Unfortunately they are going to poke me at Duke so I need to suck it up 🙂 We’re looking forward to seeing our friend Ken O’Berry and meeting his fiance and staying again with Rob and Kim Singleton. 90 degrees here we come!

Wednesday night Mike and Wendy came by and we played euchre for the first time in a while. To prove that I can turn the other cheek after Wendy tried to kill me with the metal beam at her church, we let her win. I think it took an hour for one game and we may or may not have tried to throw it just so we could be done.

We went to see their son Joe, play baseball tonight and she made fun of me for admitting to a former pro player that I became scared of baseball after I was hit in the eye with a whiffle ball from about 4 feet away and blind for three days. She was quite abusive, but I will continue to be the bigger person (and winner).

Listen to this small world story. Yesterday Amy and her boyfriend Josh went to St. Louis to see the Cubs and Cardinals. I decided to call my friend Phil Bradley who is the Assistant to the Executive Director of the MLB Players Association. I asked if he had any connections in St. Louis to get Amy and Josh to meet players. He said probably not, but if they got there early enough he’d see what he could do. Well they didn’t make it. So I’m telling Mike at the baseball game and this guy says, “You know Phil Bradley?” then he tells me he played baseball with Phil at Missouri and they were close friends. Small world? That’s nothing. We get introduced to his wife Lori and find out she went to Western, where Eileen and I met. Here’s how it went: (pretty much)

Lori: So when did you graduate?

Eileen: ’83

Lori: So did I

Eileen: What dorm did you live in?

Lori: Corbin

Eileen: No Way!

Eileen: What floor did you live on?

Lori: 4

Eileen: (louder) No Way! That’s where I lived

Both are now looking for pictures 🙂 Lori spent all her weekends working on her MRS (I barely know her and I’m already teasing) and Phil would sometimes drive her back from Columbia to Macomb. We came back home and I had to grab the camera and go back to get a picture. What an incredibly small world! (Jim pitched in the Braves organization after college)

My vision has really been a challenge and I don’t like the amount of time I spend with my eyes closed, but they really hurt. Still, God uses it to provide humor. I finally had to break down and have Eileen cut my toenails. On Mother’s Day she told me “I’m not your mom”, but if you would have heard the conversation while she “manicured” me, it sure seemed like it. “Quit your whining you big baby.” “Put your foot back here” She is spending way too much time with Wendy 🙂 I like my nails to be as low as you can go with minimal blood letting. Don’t tell her, but I did some of my own maintenance by feel.

I’m still taking Ambien every day. Ok, I admit it. After 17 months I’m addicted. First I’ll get past brain cancer, then I’ll deal with ambien. The other night Eileen claims she found me asleep at my computer and I kept trying to work as she dragged me to bed. Then she claims she found me asleep on the toilet. Whatever! Do you see any pictures? Exactly. If it happened there would be pictures, trust me. And she would have called Wendy. You don’t know these women, but I do.

I will have to say, Eileen’s really developed a green thumb. She takes care of the yard and the landscaping and it looks awesome.The grass is lush and really nice to walk in barefoot.

For the past few days I’ve been listening to podcasts from lifechurch.tv and they had Dave Ramsey speaking. He is really smart about money and quite funny. His big thing is getting out of debt and says, “Live like no one else now; so later, you can live like no one else.” Anyway, he’s been big time broke and in debt and said he was reading Proverbs 6:1-6, which says:

My son, if you have put up security for your neighbor,
if you have struck hands in pledge for another,

2 if you have been trapped by what you said,
ensnared by the words of your mouth,

3 then do this, my son, to free yourself,
since you have fallen into your neighbor’s hands:
Go and humble yourself;
press your plea with your neighbor!

4 Allow no sleep to your eyes,
no slumber to your eyelids.

5 Free yourself, like a gazelle from the hand of the hunter,
like a bird from the snare of the fowler.

6 Go to the ant, you sluggard;
consider its ways and be wise.

He said to himself, “Great, God. I don’t get the gazelle thing at all and how that relates to money.” Then he was watching Discovery Channel that night and it was about gazelles. Coincidence? They said that cheetah’s are gazelle’s worst enemy and cheetahs are faster than gazelle’s, but you know what? Gazelle’s only get caught 1 time in 19. Why? Because they are highly motivated to RUN!!! 🙂 And that is what we should do when we are tempted to spend money we don’t have and take on stupid debt. The podcasts are free on itunes or you can watch the video here:http://www.lifechurch.tv/message-archive/watch/life-money-hope/1 (but hurry).

Please Pray: NO CANCER on Petscan or MRI, good labs next Thu, restored vision, no pain, complete healing.

SPECIAL REQUEST: Would you please pray for my friend Tim? He has the same cancer and really needs a miracle.

I’m expecting a miracle, God’s gonna deliver it, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-05-22”

  1. Ferinannnd Says:

    Что то слишком мудрено… И по-моему расчитано на блогера чем на вебмастера

  2. Gwen Mathews Says:

    Don,
    Pam Ligenfelter called to tell me about your problem with your cancer and loss of vision. I could write you some web searches for ways to make your computer read things to you. Would this be of any help to you? Has someone told you about Recordings for the Blind and Dyslexic? Do you like leisure reading? What would you like to have read to you–magazines, newspapers, etc? I am retiring from teaching children who are blind or visually impaired and am also a survivor of 22 years and continuing the battle. I feel my tatoo should be on my forehead with the words, “Don’t mess with me!” Keep up the fight. Let me know if I can be of some help with getting you to web sites.

    Gwen Mathews

  3. Robin Armbrust Says:

    Don,
    I know that you probably get a alot of mail for prayer. You are truly and inspiration to all that know or don’t know you personally. Thank you for being real.

Leave a Reply

