Don Bowen Update: 2009-05-27

In this update: Duke results

I apologize for not sending this out last night, but I wasn’t up for it.

Unfortunately we did not get the results from Duke we had hoped for. The MRI and Petscan showed what they believe is new tumor growth and it is in the same place as before. This was hard news to hear. We had hoped to be done with treatment and now we will need to continue.

Dr. Reardon said we could participate in a couple clinical trials for different drugs, but it would require us to return to Duke for the first treatment and every month for the first few months. Treatment is more important than our personal schedule or cost, but that just wouldn’t work for us. As a result we will start a new regimen of Avastin every two weeks (intravenously) and VP-16 daily for 21 days out of every 28. I hope to start this on Friday provided my labs on Thursday look good enough.

As I’ve said many times before. God is good when things are good and he is STILL good even when things look bad. His ways and thoughts are so far above ours that it is hard to understand. But we totally trust Him and continue to ask Him for complete healing. Continue to ask Him with us and we will see Him make our joy full (John 16:24).

Specific prayer requests:

– Complete healing

– Restored vision

– No headaches (these have increased, but at least I know why)

– No fear and total peace

I will write more later, but I need to grab a quick shower and catch a plane back to Peoria.

I’m expecting a miracle, God’s gonna deliver it, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-05-27”

  1. Pam Lingenfelter Says:

    Don and Eileen, my heart goes out to you. So appreciate the specific prayer requests! I will be praying BIG!

  2. Ellen L. Lindgren Says:

    Dear Don and family, I am Keith Lindgren’s mother. I will be praying for each and ever request you have made and MORE! May God give you and your family strength and courage as you continue on your journey with Him during this medical challenge for you. As the Bible says “God works for GOOD for those who LOVE Him and are called according to his purpose”. “Draw close to God and He will draw close to you.” “May the peace of God which surpasses ALL understanding, keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” I will be keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers!

  3. Ramses Moya Says:

    I’m doing it really, really big…. I’ll be going big today, big tomorrow… and the day after that as well.

Leave a Reply

