Don Bowen Update: 2009-06-15

In this update: Latest Dr. visit, Treatment plan in place, Wendy wins? Megan heads to CA

I meant to write over the weekend because so much has happened. When we came back from vacation we still hadn’t figured out what to do next for treatment. I wrote that my arms wouldn’t let me do the other clinical trial, but after more thoroughly reviewing my options and talking to Mike it made the most sense to go with what seemed the least attractive because as Mike said, “Now is the time to be aggressive”. For those of you that want more details here is the link to the clinical trial

I personally don’t like reading anything about this illness on the internet so I have Mike and other friends read it for me. I’m not sure how people without someone like Mike actually make it. When you have to make really hard decisions, I mean decisions that deal with life or death – yours, you need lots of wisdom and someone who cares as much as you do about the end result. Mike qualifies big time. My only regret is having to drag him through this. I will be having IVs twice a week, on Friday and Monday, two weeks in a row and then have a week off. We’ll continue to do this as long as it appears to be working.
Want to see what I do while waiting for the doctor to see me?

Hey, I want to get my money’s worth and those are some cool toys šŸ™‚

Here is me signing my life away to get into the clinical trial,explained by Jordan.

You should see how bad my handwriting is, especially since I’m left-handed and can’t see on the left.

After signing up I was off to Saint Francis to have an EKG, Chest X-Ray and a more current MRI. When Melissa finished doing my EKG she said she was going to fax it “across the street” and then call them to make sure they got it.I was really impressed since far too many times simple “across the street communication had not happened and become a real issue. Thanks, Melissa!

I haven’t heard the results from the MRI yet, but I hope to by sometime tomorrow. Pray the head aches I’ve been having are not an indication of any increased growth.

Friday night Liz invited Pam, one of her fellow interns at OSF to some over and they taught her how to play 8-card golf .

Wendy and I played a game of cribbage first and amazingly she won. No, I’m not kidding, she really did. OK, don’t believe me. Later I heard Eileen saying it would never make the blog and I heard Wendy shout, “It better be in the blog!” I couldn’t resist yelling back, “Did we play cribbage tonight?” and Wendy said, “What?!” Mike laughed with me and said, “She makes it so easy, doesn’t she?” šŸ™‚ Yes, she does. I at least got to warn Pam about her.

Saturday morning we took Megan to the airport. She’ll be a counselor at a camp in La Jolla CA until August. She did the same thing last year and we missed her then too.

On Sunday my head was hurting pretty good so I just napped and listened to the last round of the St. Jude Classic. I kept hearing what sounded like a woodpecker and thought I was losing it, but a short while later I finally spotted it above the front door and grabbed this picture. No idea why it kept pecking at the window. Can you see it there on the left?

I’ve been listening to podcasts on marriage by Andy Stanley and Craig Groeschel, which I’d highly recommend, but tonight I went back to Psalms. It’s no wonder God called David a man after His own heart.

Shout with joy to God, all the earth!

2 Sing the glory of his name;
make his praise glorious!

3 Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds!
So great is your power
that your enemies cringe before you.

4 All the earth bows down to you;
they sing praise to you,
they sing praise to your name.”
Selah

5 Come and see what God has done,
how awesome his works in man’s behalf!

(Psalm 66: 1-5)

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2009-06-15”

  1. Patie McCracken Says:

    Hi Don,
    I haven’t communicated with you in a long time. I just wanted to know that I think about you often and pray for you and wish your new treatment will be successful! You are blessed with an incredible family and friends!

    I heard about David Cook (American Idol) talking about his brother who had a brain tumor. The doctors kept giving him dire hope and he just kept on living and living…for 11 more years! So with the strength you have and support, prayers and love of many people (some, not in touch much)…please know you are in my thoughts and the power of energy and strength and goodwill are being sent your way! Miracles do happen!!

    Sincerely,
    Patie

  2. Angie @ Keep Believing Says:

    Don,

    Don’t feel bad about dragging your friends and family into this with you. They want to be a part of it with you and wouldn’t offer much less follow through if they didn’t mean it.

    My mom told me as we were going through all this and I had such a hard time accepting help from others that I was robbing people of THEIR joy when I didn’t let them help me. WOW. It was so profound.

    I love her for that.

    Please heed.

    KEEP BELIEVING

  3. Angie @ Keep Believing Says:

    I wanted to add that I also once told Brian that he was releasing within people a part of them they didn’t know existed – a part that allowed them to show their servanthood and their compassion and their gifts.

    Brian said, quite sarcastically, I must add, “Yeah, I love being THAT guy.”

    True. True.

    But still….

    God uses us all in different ways for different reasons.

    KEEP BELIEVING

Leave a Reply

